Stalling My 140 BHP

Ray_Green

6000 mile and 7 months down the road, my SM can still catch me out when I'm in low gear. Is it just a training issue between me an my SM? Or do others need help from Barbara Woodhouse. (I have only been driving for 37 years) :giggle:

Edited by Ray_Green

6000 mile and 7 months down the road, my SM can still catch me out when I'm in low gear. Is it just a training issue between me an my SM? Or do others need help from Barbara Woodhouse. (I have only been driving for 37 years) :giggle:

Hi Ray

it seems to happen. Might be afeature of the gearing/engine.

John

It's caught me out too in my 110tdi, I've been driving since 1983 too! I'm having to het used to changing down more on hills and corners at lower speeds.

I think I've got it!

First of all, when you drive in situations, where the engine speed gets below the idle speed, the engine management electronic decide that it cannot cope, and shuts the engne down. This comes as a surprise, as there is usually no prior warning.

The same happens with VAG PD engines, only much ore dramatic with a loud bang as the engine stops.

I think the problem is that we are all used to petrol or diesel engines with mechanical engine control, where you get a stall warning, as the engine clearly indicates that is about to stall, so that you can recognize it and do something - like declutch or change gear.

With the turbocharged and electronic controls, there is just not any warning. The engine seems fine, but as the rpm drops below the 800 rpm idle speed, the system says STOP:

We all just have to learn that it is not possible to drive at less than idle speed.

Hi All,