Yeti speakers

scotchandskoda

Hi all

Has anyone replaced the speakers on their Yeti? I've been fiddling with the sound system and although it's not bad I think it could be better for not much money. I don't want it to be louder, so no need to tinker with new amps etc, just want better quality for not much outlay.

Replacement speakers are not that expensive and quite easy to fit too. I am no expert on which speakers are going to offer the best value, anyone have any experience in this?

Does anyone know the sizes front and back, is it better to replace the back speakers over the front - or all at once. I'm not sure if the little ones near the pillars (are they tweeters?) need replacing more than big ones.

I've not seen this as a topic - but I don't look every day!

Hope someone can help.

Ta

For starters I would look to replace the tweeters. The ones Skoda use are crap and destroy any sound quality in the car. They have a tiny little capacitor on the back to act as a high pass filter and it doesn't work too well according to my ears.

Trouble is, my ears are very sensitive to the higher audible frequencies to the extent where I can't be in the same room as an old telly that has a bit of a whistle to it!

Sound is of course highly subjective but I think the tweeters pump out too much tinny rubbish which just ruins everything. A decent pair of tweeters with a good HP filter will help and is cheaper than replacing the main speakers.

So far i have replaced the standard speakers with alpine 300w spr-17c in the rears and spr-17s componants in the front as you say I agree the standards leave a lot to desire this has increased depth of sound a great deal but the columbus lacks output power so tomorrow its having a jbl 4 channel amp installed to boost output.