Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

columbus sat nav


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 tupperware12300

tupperware12300

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Car:skoda superb elegance

Posted 17 June 2011 - 09:50

Ive just had mt 2009 superb serviced and asked about updating the columbus sat nav to take the full post codes i was told i needed the V7 updated DVD Pt No 3T0051859 at a cost of £145:00 + vat this seems expensive to me as its only a disc, has anybody else been told this and is there an alternative way of obtaining this part at a sensible price,(not a generic one though), i would prefer the correct disc

Edited by tupperware12300, 17 June 2011 - 09:53.


#2 skippy41

skippy41

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,320 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 10:14

You should have asked to borrow there copy and done it yourself without leaving the dealers, you should also have received a free disc when you bought the car, but depending where you live there are members on here that will lend you there's, it can take up to an hour to update
Ask in the superb and Octavia 2 section

#3 Stoofa

Stoofa

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,667 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 10:16

Ive just had mt 2009 superb serviced and asked about updating the columbus sat nav to take the full post codes i was told i needed the V7 updated DVD Pt No 3T0051859 at a cost of £145:00 + vat this seems expensive to me as its only a disc, has anybody else been told this and is there an alternative way of obtaining this part at a sensible price,(not a generic one though), i would prefer the correct disc


Is this the discounted price because you are trading in your old, original disk that you got with your car?
It does sound about right - although for some reason I'd got a price of £99 in my head as a trade-in price.

The 7-digit searching added a lot to the price, it has to be licensed from Maptec (I believe) and that costs a lot.

The 7-digit postcode search is NOT just map dependant, it is also dependant on the firmware of your Columbus.
My Octy vRS with Columbus purchased two months ago still had a firmware on that did not support 7-digit searching, so a good chance yours will be old too.
Skoda will not do the firmware upgrade fro you - you'll have to do that yourself.

#4 Stoofa

Stoofa

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,667 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 10:18

You should have asked to borrow there copy and done it yourself without leaving the dealers, you should also have received a free disc when you bought the car, but depending where you live there are members on here that will lend you there's, it can take up to an hour to update
Ask in the superb and Octavia 2 section


Are we alloed to advocate illegal activites on these forums?
It's one license per disk - once installed that is where the license is.
"Lending" disks around is really the same as illegally downloading them.

#5 skippy41

skippy41

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,320 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 10:21

You can download your own copy if you know where to look, the licence is not car specific

#6 Stoofa

Stoofa

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,667 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 12:44

You can download your own copy if you know where to look, the licence is not car specific


Of course it is.
Where do you get the idea that this map upgrade should be free or you can "lend" the disk around?
The maps can either be run from the disk or installed to the Hard Drive.
If you run them from the disk then obviously you need the disk in all the time.
If you install them to the HD then that is your one installation of the maps done.
You cannot legally sell the disk (without removing the maps from your own unit), lend the disk to somebody else to install (again without removing them from your own machine).

The maps cost money because they cost money to produce and the 7-digit postcode searching is really expensive to license.

I take it your idea of software licensing is really non-existant and as far as you're concerned it's free for all when it comes to software that costs money?

#7 skippy41

skippy41

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,320 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 17:47

Stoofa,Perhaps would you like to educate us all as how the dealer can with just one disc, update any vehicle fitted with the columbus.
How many have obtained there own copy's some with speed camera locations all be it that don't give a warning yet, and they are all working, all available from some of the map and firmware programs freely available on the net, from all the big named players of sat navs

#8 spencem

spencem

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 18:15

I'll jump in here as someone who works for a software company. These things are available simply because people steal them and make them available. Take a look at the case the disk came in and you will see that it clearly lays out your rights to use the product, those rights do not include giving it away to other people.

As to how the dealer loads multiple copies it may well be that they pay for a bulk licensing deal, in the same way our larger customers only get one DVD but are licensed to load it multiple times.

#9 skippy41

skippy41

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,320 posts

Posted 18 June 2011 - 01:59

I'll jump in here as someone who works for a software company. These things are available simply because people steal them and make them available. Take a look at the case the disk came in and you will see that it clearly lays out your rights to use the product, those rights do not include giving it away to other people.

As to how the dealer loads multiple copies it may well be that they pay for a bulk licensing deal, in the same way our larger customers only get one DVD but are licensed to load it multiple times.


Right the quo brings out a new album B) and your mate has it, you ask for a loan so you can listen to it then hand it back
Its the same with the map updates you borrow it, download it onto the HD then hand it back,
When you get any new Skoda fitted with the Columbus it should have come with a disc in the first place, just in-case something goes wrong with it so you can re-download the maps
The same thing applies when you copy CDs to your comp and download them to SD cards so you can save on the HD.
Just suppose you needed a hammer and your mate had one, you ask for a loan of it.
All I am saying is why pay over £120 for something that can be lent to you to do the job.
If you want to nit pick your mate could even do the job for you, by putting the disc in your Columbus to try it out ;) then you have done nothing wrong

#10 ukcruiser

ukcruiser

    Uber Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,198 posts
  • Location:Sunderland, ish.
  • Car:Merc E 250 CDi Sport Estate & Superb Estate 170 4x4

Posted 18 June 2011 - 05:34

The same thing applies when you copy CDs to your comp and download them to SD cards so you can save on the HD.


Technically, the CD Was yours in the 1st place, and you are simply "backing up" this copy, and not re-distributing it...

Al.

#11 kensym

kensym

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts

Posted 18 June 2011 - 07:30

Personally I think £145.00 + VAT is a reasonable price for the upgrade disc, Previous cars have been £450.00 to £800.00 plus VAT, (didnt buy those!)

If you look at it another way you dont go running back to the dealer with your MY10 car when the MY12 comes out with new features demanding a "free upgrade" to your cars' features to bring it up to date. Software is the same, there is a substansial cost to developing software upgrades which has to be paid for.

As for licencing the dealers probably have a corporate or similar licence which legally allows multiple installs.

#12 monitoringstar

monitoringstar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 July 2011 - 15:14

Personally I think £145.00 + VAT is a reasonable price for the upgrade disc, Previous cars have been £450.00 to £800.00 plus VAT, (didnt buy those!)

If you look at it another way you dont go running back to the dealer with your MY10 car when the MY12 comes out with new features demanding a "free upgrade" to your cars' features to bring it up to date. Software is the same, there is a substansial cost to developing software upgrades which has to be paid for.

As for licencing the dealers probably have a corporate or similar licence which legally allows multiple installs.



#13 monitoringstar

monitoringstar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 July 2011 - 15:19

The key thing here is surely UPDATE! 95+% of the maps etc will be unchanged year to year, looked at like that £145 for a (probably) less than 5% change in the data makes £145 seem VERY expensive. I was really only prompted to this topic as I have just returned from a business trip to Ireland and according to the Columbus system in my 2010 Superb Estate I was driving across fields for a large part of the trip from Dublin to Galway!

#14 2slo

2slo

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 324 posts

Posted 10 July 2011 - 15:41

according to the Columbus system in my 2010 Superb Estate I was driving across fields for a large part of the trip from Dublin to Galway!


Make sure you wash the mud off before it sets hard :giggle:

#15 Eddie-NL

Eddie-NL

    Briskodian

  • FREEDOM
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,592 posts
  • Car:2012 Octavia Vrs 170CR Estate Race Blue

Posted 10 July 2011 - 15:44

Although it is wrong to lend discs out for multiple installs, whoever makes the maps obviously haven't put any copy protection to prevent multiple installs. So by not doing that who is going to take notice of the EULA with the disc.

To those that want to stick with one disc + one install > Go to the dealer and buy a new disc at £sss

#16 fernrock

fernrock

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 16:41

The key thing here is surely UPDATE! 95+% of the maps etc will be unchanged year to year, looked at like that £145 for a (probably) less than 5% change in the data makes £145 seem VERY expensive. I was really only prompted to this topic as I have just returned from a business trip to Ireland and according to the Columbus system in my 2010 Superb Estate I was driving across fields for a large part of the trip from Dublin to Galway!


I live in Ireland and, drive a 2011 Superb with what I believe is v7 installed.

I would not worry about crossing fields.

Every time I approach or travel in a nearby tunnel opened early 2010 I actually cross water !!!

#17 Stoofa

Stoofa

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,667 posts

Posted 12 July 2011 - 08:24

Although it is wrong to lend discs out for multiple installs, whoever makes the maps obviously haven't put any copy protection to prevent multiple installs. So by not doing that who is going to take notice of the EULA with the disc.

To those that want to stick with one disc + one install > Go to the dealer and buy a new disc at £sss


Unfortunately there are always those that will take a free option over a "paid for" one.
Personally I've grown out of piracy and illegally copying, distributing and downloading software to which I do not have a legal license for.
So, once V8 maps are available I will pay for the upgrade.

Just the way I am - the world doesn't owe me a living, somebody has had to release those V7 maps and some company has paid a lot to license full postcode searching (which isn't cheap) so they will deserve my cash come upgrade time.

#18 Stålmunk

Stålmunk

    Stålmunk

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted 12 July 2011 - 09:26

Unfortunately there are always those that will take a free option over a "paid for" one.
Personally I've grown out of piracy and illegally copying, distributing and downloading software to which I do not have a legal license for.
So, once V8 maps are available I will pay for the upgrade.

Just the way I am - the world doesn't owe me a living, somebody has had to release those V7 maps and some company has paid a lot to license full postcode searching (which isn't cheap) so they will deserve my cash come upgrade time.

This^^, absolutely this^^.

We have multiple install software at work and we are very disciplined in keeping tracks installing and uninstalling.

This issue of piracy really grips me, especially that attitude shown in china where there is no intellectual property law and it is seen as acceptable just to buy one and then reverse engineer it. Or put people into companies as long term sleepers for purposes of industrial espionage.

Not acceptable, never has been, never will be.

And all that is despite my very jaundiced view of FAST.

#19 Supeeeeerb

Supeeeeerb

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Car:Superb Combi Elegance CR170 4x4

Posted 13 July 2011 - 11:00

This^^, absolutely this^^.

We have multiple install software at work and we are very disciplined in keeping tracks installing and uninstalling.

This issue of piracy really grips me, especially that attitude shown in china where there is no intellectual property law and it is seen as acceptable just to buy one and then reverse engineer it. Or put people into companies as long term sleepers for purposes of industrial espionage.

Not acceptable, never has been, never will be.

And all that is despite my very jaundiced view of FAST.



At the same token, I got a new car in January 20112 with a map that was at least two years out of date. New Motorways which had been open well before my car was manufactured did not appear. The least I expect, given the cost of my car (CR170 4x4 Combi Elegance), was a map that was current the day I received the car. Subsequent upgrades, then OK, but one should not have to put up with an out of date product.

#20 Stålmunk

Stålmunk

    Stålmunk

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted 13 July 2011 - 13:33

At the same token, I got a new car in January 20112 with a map that was at least two years out of date. New Motorways which had been open well before my car was manufactured did not appear. The least I expect, given the cost of my car (CR170 4x4 Combi Elegance), was a map that was current the day I received the car. Subsequent upgrades, then OK, but one should not have to put up with an out of date product.

Fair enough, but was the problem that you had an old revision of the mapping data and there was a newer disk available, or was it that you had the latest revision disk but that the base data was two years old?

Two different things.

When I spot out of date data then report it to NAVTEQ who are my "suppliers."

http://mapreporter.n...MER&language=en

#21 allan1888

allan1888

    Bathroom installer extraordinaire

  • FREEDOM
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 717 posts

Posted 13 July 2011 - 14:00

http://www.uvworldwi...ras-p-3481.html



I would buy the disc from here providing it's a genuine one rather than pay dealer prices

#22 monitoringstar

monitoringstar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 July 2011 - 20:38

Make sure you wash the mud off before it sets hard :giggle:


It rained so much there was no chance any mud was going to set!

Contacted my local dealer and they quoted me £145 (+ VAT) for the update disc, but said it would give me 7 digit post code function. When asked (parts dept) whether this would need firmware update they said they would check and get back to me. Sure enough within 30 minutes they rang back - as I had bought the car (new) from them and had it serviced with them they could update the firmware and install the new maps for free, but I would not get to keep the disc, when would I like to bring the car in? They confirmed that updating the firmware would wipe the music and favourite destinations etc but that is a relatively small price to pay to get a free map update and improved functionality. Does anyone know if you can back up the music and favourite destinations etc and then simply do a mass restore after the firmware update?

#23 bill2

bill2

    bill2

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Location:rainham kent
  • Car:2010 170 cr dsg elegance estate now SOLD

Posted 16 July 2011 - 08:58

i installed new firmware and maps on my Columbus 2010 model. but did not lose any of my music or old destinations nothing changed and now have 7 digit post codes.bill

#24 Andover Tabler

Andover Tabler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:UK (South)
  • Car:Skoda Superb Elegance 2.0 TDI Elegance DSG

Posted 07 December 2011 - 20:33

That disc looks like it is the VW disc and would therefore have (I guess) VW garages and not Skoda garages. Also, would a firmware upgrade be required in order to get the most out of the disc? My local garage have given me a disc (v7) so that I could update the system myself, but have asked that I post it back. Having updated it, it is evident that I need a firmware upgrade to get some of the features. They have offered to do the firmware upgrade, which seems unlike some other dealers based upon some comments made on this forum site.

#25 mannyo

mannyo

    Now where's that petrol station

  • Super Moderators
  • 20,855 posts

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:30

The VW, Seat and Skoda disks are all exactly the same. The VW disk does have Skoda garages on it just as it also Seat ones, what gets loaded depends on the model, so in a Skoda even with the VW or Seat disk you will find that Skoda garages are loaded.

#26 OhPinchy

OhPinchy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 December 2011 - 21:52

The VW, Seat and Skoda disks are all exactly the same. The VW disk does have Skoda garages on it just as it also Seat ones, what gets loaded depends on the model, so in a Skoda even with the VW or Seat disk you will find that Skoda garages are loaded.


I recently bought a used 2011 Skoda Superb 170bhp 2.0 TDI DSG Elegance in metallic black - absolutely love it by the way! I live in Dublin and just drove to Galway and was seriously surprised to see it didn't have the M6 motorway on the sat nav and had me driving through fields for half the journey - that road is open for about 2 years now so that really is poor form in a car originally sold new in April 2011.

Is it the case that the VW and Skoda versions of the maps DVD do the exact same thing or is it the case that there is only one version available (the VW one)?

I pressed down the Setup button on my Columbus for 5 seconds but it didn't do anything so I'm not sure what version of the firmware or maps I have - how can I check that?

#27 Departed

Departed

    No longer a member

  • FREEDOM
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 893 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 16:24

I pressed down the Setup button on my Columbus for 5 seconds but it didn't do anything so I'm not sure what version of the firmware or maps I have - how can I check that?

Keep the button down for around 15 seconds. If that doesn't reveal the hidden menu, it will need enabling by someone with VCDS.

Ray



#28 OhPinchy

OhPinchy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 December 2011 - 20:43

Keep the button down for around 15 seconds. If that doesn't reveal the hidden menu, it will need enabling by someone with VCDS.

Ray


Thanks Argee. I turned on, pressed Setup, then pressed Setup again and held it down for 30 seconds but all that happened was it went to the Radio menu with AM/FM options shown. Also tried it just holding down the button after turning on (not first going into Setup).

As it happens, I do have a VAG COM cable and VCDS but I am underusing it as I don't really know how to get the most out of it - all I use it for is running the Auto Scan feature. I ran the Auto Scan and got the following (no fault codes for any modules) for the Navigation module (serial number modified):

Address 37: Navigation (J0506) Labels: 1T0-035-680.clb
Part No SW: 3T0 035 680 A HW: 3T0 035 680 A
Component: RNS-MID H42 2724
Revision: AB001001 Serial number: XXXXXXX
Coding: 040004020004008100
Shop #: WSC 33361 790 00999
ASAM Dataset: ------------------------- ------
VCID: 2E58E2DEC087

Does this make it possible to tell what firmware I have or is there something else I need to do? Thanks.

#29 OhPinchy

OhPinchy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 December 2011 - 11:57

Thanks Argee. I turned on, pressed Setup, then pressed Setup again and held it down for 30 seconds but all that happened was it went to the Radio menu with AM/FM options shown. Also tried it just holding down the button after turning on (not first going into Setup).

As it happens, I do have a VAG COM cable and VCDS but I am underusing it as I don't really know how to get the most out of it - all I use it for is running the Auto Scan feature. I ran the Auto Scan and got the following (no fault codes for any modules) for the Navigation module (serial number modified):

Address 37: Navigation (J0506) Labels: 1T0-035-680.clb
Part No SW: 3T0 035 680 A HW: 3T0 035 680 A
Component: RNS-MID H42 2724
Revision: AB001001 Serial number: XXXXXXX
Coding: 040004020004008100
Shop #: WSC 33361 790 00999
ASAM Dataset: ------------------------- ------
VCID: 2E58E2DEC087

Does this make it possible to tell what firmware I have or is there something else I need to do? Thanks.


I'm going to order the V8 maps shortly so would appreciate any tips on how to confirm my firmware version and how to update it if necessary. Thanks!

#30 Camberley_Chris

Camberley_Chris

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 15:44

I'm going to order the V8 maps shortly so would appreciate any tips on how to confirm my firmware version and how to update it if necessary. Thanks!


There's some good info about V8 maps etc in this forum thread...
http://briskoda.net/...8-maps-are-out/
...but I find all the different numbers and levels confusing and can't be the only one.
Maybe someone in the know could start a thread containing a Cross Reference (xref) that could be regularly updated as new versions/releases are made available?




0 User(s) reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users