Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Engine pinking/flat spots


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 20:49

Hi

I wondered if anyone could help with a couple of issues I'm having with my Mk1 RS.
First of all i'm getting a small bit of pinking when i start to accelerate a little on low revs and when i'm over 4000 revs the car feels a little flat.
I use 95 ron fuel and i'm wondering if this is the cause.
Ive just changed the plugs recently and clean the throttle pot out regularly.
Any help would be great
Cheers Jon

Edited by speedyjon, 21 May 2012 - 21:10.


#2 Big Jase

Big Jase

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,428 posts
  • Car:BMW Wheelbarrow Edition

Posted 21 May 2012 - 20:54

Unplug maf sensor and if it runs better it could be your problem

#3 DBP

DBP

    Uber Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,695 posts
  • Location:Dorset
  • Car:Skoda Octavia vRS mk1 black.

Posted 21 May 2012 - 20:56

Switching to vPower will give you much better running.

Did you do the sparks and the coil packs? You should see see if you can get them replaced on the coil pack recall.

#4 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:04

Just the plugs, but the car has done 99k and is a 2001 and skoda would still change the coil packs under warranty?

#5 DBP

DBP

    Uber Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,695 posts
  • Location:Dorset
  • Car:Skoda Octavia vRS mk1 black.

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:09

Just the plugs, but the car has done 99k and is a 2001 and skoda would still change the coil packs under warranty?


If they're the right model number. Go to your local dealer and enquire. There prone to failure and a common fault

#6 Oet

Oet

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,067 posts
  • Location:Kent
  • Car:vrs, mk2 golf gti, mk1 golf gti roof chop t2 and a beach buggy

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:25

i would sugges vag log it, recon it could be the coilpacks too.
if the plugs are good, and the throttle body and maf are clean, then its a possible suspect.

#7 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:38

Anyone know the part number for the replacment coil packs?

#8 Longyear

Longyear

    "These are not the droids you are looking for.."

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Car:Octavia VRS 1.8T 20v (Stage 1 Remap 205bhp))

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:42

Just call your local Skoda dealer and quote your reg and they'll tell you instantly if you can have some free new coil packs. :)

Personally I think it sounds more like a dirty throttle body and or the suggested MAF problems. I have just had a similar issue with my VRS and it turned out to be the MAF, although a thorough clean of the throttle body and a half bottle of good quality injector cleaner also helped get the purry smoothness back. :)

#9 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:46

Just call your local Skoda dealer and quote your reg and they'll tell you instantly if you can have some free new coil packs. Posted Image

Personally I think it sounds more like a dirty throttle body and or the suggested MAF problems. I have just had a similar issue with my VRS and it turned out to be the MAF, although a thorough clean of the throttle body and a half bottle of good quality injector cleaner also helped get the purry smoothness back. Posted Image

I do clean the throttle body regular but someone else said about injector clean so ill give that a go.

#10 Oet

Oet

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,067 posts
  • Location:Kent
  • Car:vrs, mk2 golf gti, mk1 golf gti roof chop t2 and a beach buggy

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:51

those pesky coil packs can be guilty of a lot though!
if you only do one side of the TB, then take it off and clean it properly, if you move the butterfly it will need resetting with vag.con

#11 Longyear

Longyear

    "These are not the droids you are looking for.."

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Car:Octavia VRS 1.8T 20v (Stage 1 Remap 205bhp))

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:53

You really do need a good quality cleaner, that has the right amount of the right ingredients. None of yer £2.99 Redex mind! :)

I use this, and it's fantastic. A treatment with this and my cars always feel better than after a £200 service :-

BG44k - High Quality Fuel System Conditioner and Carbon Remover:

http://www.powerenha...-carbon-remover

...but, I would look at plugs, MAF, and coils first, as they're probably more likely to be causing the hesitation/flat spot.

Edited by Longyear, 21 May 2012 - 21:54.

  • Oet likes this

#12 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 21:57

Ive taken it off completely once before the last time i cleaned it but did not know about resetting anything

#13 Oet

Oet

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,067 posts
  • Location:Kent
  • Car:vrs, mk2 golf gti, mk1 golf gti roof chop t2 and a beach buggy

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:00

the TB should be reset by vag.com if you move the buterfly (which you need to do to clean the TB properly) its basically needs a reset, its a quick fix to do, assuming you have access to the software.
Did you change the gasket too when removing it?

#14 Longyear

Longyear

    "These are not the droids you are looking for.."

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Car:Octavia VRS 1.8T 20v (Stage 1 Remap 205bhp))

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:02

Ive taken it off completely once before the last time i cleaned it but did not know about resetting anything


That's just if you remove the power connection to the throttle body. It is possible to remove the Throttle Body and thoroughly clean it, without actually disconnecting the power plug..... if you keep that plug on, nothing needs resetting. To do a proper clean though, you need a 2nd person to hold the accelerator pedal down (with the key turned on, but without the engine on obviously!), to get the throttle to open. :)

I done it that way because I don't have easy access to VAG-COM. If have access to VAG-COM, as Oet said, it's a non-event to reset it. ;)

Edited by Longyear, 21 May 2012 - 22:03.


#15 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:03

the TB should be reset by vag.com if you move the buterfly (which you need to do to clean the TB properly) its basically needs a reset, its a quick fix to do, assuming you have access to the software.
Did you change the gasket too when removing it?

The gasket was in good condition so did not bother replacing it, a friend of mine has a diagnostics machine will that do the job?

#16 Oet

Oet

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,067 posts
  • Location:Kent
  • Car:vrs, mk2 golf gti, mk1 golf gti roof chop t2 and a beach buggy

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:05

fair point, i always take mine to the bench to clean so no mess in the bay, plus i have the software so its not an issue anyway.
I just take off, manually move, and clean then reset and jobs a goodun.

Like your workaround though, nice thinking, you just have to bribe a helper:>

#17 Longyear

Longyear

    "These are not the droids you are looking for.."

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Car:Octavia VRS 1.8T 20v (Stage 1 Remap 205bhp))

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:06

fair point, i always take mine to the bench to clean so no mess in the bay, plus i have the software so its not an issue anyway.
I just take off, manually move, and clean then reset and jobs a goodun.

Like your workaround though, nice thinking, you just have to bribe a helper:>


Heh heh, I use the wife, she's got a nice steady foot, but she did move it once while I was cleaning and she nearly had my finger off! Lol!

#18 Oet

Oet

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,067 posts
  • Location:Kent
  • Car:vrs, mk2 golf gti, mk1 golf gti roof chop t2 and a beach buggy

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:06

hmm if it just diagnoses no, if its vag.com, vcds or similar and he can code stuff etc, then it will work, otherwise follow longyears advice.

#19 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:11

I think ill look in to the coil packs and air flow meter and ill put some injector cleaner as i changed the plugs last week,

#20 Oet

Oet

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,067 posts
  • Location:Kent
  • Car:vrs, mk2 golf gti, mk1 golf gti roof chop t2 and a beach buggy

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:13

did you gap em properly?

#21 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:14

hmm if it just diagnoses no, if its vag.com, vcds or similar and he can code stuff etc, then it will work, otherwise follow longyears advice.

Yeah garage code reader, does most things i think

#22 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:15

did you gap em properly?

No i did not

#23 Longyear

Longyear

    "These are not the droids you are looking for.."

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Car:Octavia VRS 1.8T 20v (Stage 1 Remap 205bhp))

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:23

This engine can be especially sensitive to spark plugs gaps. Could be worth a look.

You need 0.8mm for a standard VRS or 0.7mm for a remapped car.
  • Oet likes this

#24 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 21 May 2012 - 22:27

Ok ill check in to that aswell, thank you for all your help ill report back with my findings :happy:

#25 speedyjon

speedyjon

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Car:MK 1 Octavia RS

Posted 22 May 2012 - 09:15

Just spoke to skoda the dealer and they have not been changed so its booked in on saturday for 4 free coil packs yaay!!

Edited by speedyjon, 22 May 2012 - 10:47.


#26 Oet

Oet

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,067 posts
  • Location:Kent
  • Car:vrs, mk2 golf gti, mk1 golf gti roof chop t2 and a beach buggy

Posted 22 May 2012 - 10:11

This engine can be especially sensitive to spark plugs gaps.     Could be worth a look.

You need 0.8mm for a standard VRS or 0.7mm for a remapped car.


thats very correct

if not gapped properly, they will not run properly at all,
if you fitted straight out the box this needs to be checked/done

#27 IulianE

IulianE

    Uber Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Location:Bucharest
  • Car:Skoda Octavia Elegance 20V turbo

Posted 22 May 2012 - 14:53

Is it really necessary to gap brand new spark plugs for stock cars(on remapped it's make sense a bit)?I was doing that ages ago on my old crappy '83 citroen,and because the engine was rubbish

Edited by IulianE, 22 May 2012 - 14:58.


#28 Oet

Oet

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,067 posts
  • Location:Kent
  • Car:vrs, mk2 golf gti, mk1 golf gti roof chop t2 and a beach buggy

Posted 22 May 2012 - 15:10

yes it is necessary

you should always check plug gaps even if they say pre gapped, as they may be out or have been knocked etc.

#29 IulianE

IulianE

    Uber Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Location:Bucharest
  • Car:Skoda Octavia Elegance 20V turbo

Posted 22 May 2012 - 15:31

Do you know the gap for 1.8T AGU?Autodata says 0.9-1.1mm ,others 0.8mm

so wich is?

#30 Longyear

Longyear

    "These are not the droids you are looking for.."

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Car:Octavia VRS 1.8T 20v (Stage 1 Remap 205bhp))

Posted 22 May 2012 - 16:11

I think the view here for that engine would be 0.8mm.

I know what you mean, I have not gapped spark plugs for some years, but this engine is sensitive to correct gaps.