wilko89 buyers and sellers beware.
#1
Posted 05 August 2012 - 13:35
I used to run a DTUK tuning box in my Fabia VRS, recently I had a Shark remap so I put the tuning box in the for sale section. I had some interest in it from members and a guy called Nick Wilson (wilko89) paid for the box using paypal, I posted it on the 9th May and it arrived and was signed for by wilko on the 10th May. 5 weeks later paypal e-mailed me to say that wilko had bought the tuning box using a credit card through paypal and had informed his credit card company he hadn't received his goods and they had carried out a charge back which means they had taken back what he'd paid plus their admin fee which was £124 in total. I got straight back in touch with paypal and royal mail, and using the tracking number to show it had been signed for by wilko disputed the case with his credit card company unsuccessfully as they closed the case without giving me a refund, Wilko now has a free tuning box and I'm £124 out of pocket, needless to say wilko has not been on Briskoda since May and the hotmail address on his paypal transaction with me can't be contacted.
I was under the impression that paypal was a safe, secure way of paying and receiving payment but people like wilko know how to screw people over so I encourage members to use caution when buying and selling.
Regards
Kenny130pd
#2
Posted 05 August 2012 - 14:05

POPULAR
#3
Posted 05 August 2012 - 14:46
Llanigraham, on 05 August 2012 - 14:05, said:
+1
I wouldn't let anyone get away with this if it were me and I'd possibly also be discussing it with the Police as this looks like theft to me.
Gaz
#4
Posted 05 August 2012 - 14:51
#5
Posted 05 August 2012 - 14:59
What has his credit card co actually said , when they were told it had been signed for ?.
#6
Posted 05 August 2012 - 15:11
#8
Posted 05 August 2012 - 15:28
#9
Posted 05 August 2012 - 16:18
#10
Posted 05 August 2012 - 16:33
#11
Posted 05 August 2012 - 16:43
I'm sure he contacted me at some point asking about something or other?
What email addy did he join brisky with? Can he be reached via that?
Worries me when I hear things like this. I have about 40 different items
coming up soon on here for sale. I may only sell to Freedom members
or folk that I've met personally or are in my friends list.
Bad show wilko89! You should be ashamed of yourself.
#12
Posted 05 August 2012 - 16:47
I am sure they will be interested to see that he accepted delivery of the item yet claims not to have it and has made mugs of them as well.
#14
Posted 05 August 2012 - 17:32
devonutopia, on 05 August 2012 - 16:33, said:
Judging the general keyboard warriors on here I don't think they'd be interested in real life confrontation somehow!
They could send him a nasty email though!!
#15
Posted 05 August 2012 - 17:34
Moist Von Lipwig, on 05 August 2012 - 16:47, said:
I am sure they will be interested to see that he accepted delivery of the item yet claims not to have it and has made mugs of them as well.
Yes, in hindsight going to the CC company to prove your case may get your cash quicker and will leave them the issue of dealing with the law..
#16
Posted 05 August 2012 - 17:40
http://www.watchtower.org/
They will love popping round to see him.
#17
Posted 05 August 2012 - 17:42
#18
Posted 05 August 2012 - 17:54
#19
Posted 05 August 2012 - 18:04
#20
Posted 05 August 2012 - 18:10
Octygone, on 05 August 2012 - 17:54, said:
I've found the same name on a few forums but one in particular lives in Teeside, drives a silver R32 and used to own an Audi A3 and is called Darren. The guy on here signed one message off as Nicky. Was hoping Google would throw something up for you but unfortunately not.
#21
Posted 05 August 2012 - 18:14
http://www.briskoda....__fromsearch__1
#22
Posted 05 August 2012 - 18:15

POPULAR
Kenny130pd, on 05 August 2012 - 17:42, said:
Another example of our mighty police force in action. If I recall correctly: Fraud (obtaining goods by deception, or just plain theft (obtaining goods with no intent to pay)) is a crime in this country. The police are supposed to deal with crime. Not sure what their problem is here?
#23
Posted 05 August 2012 - 18:17
#24
Posted 05 August 2012 - 22:10
vRS19TD, on 05 August 2012 - 18:14, said:
http://www.briskoda....__fromsearch__1
That's the same guy, he could still be on here under another name having a good laugh about this.
#25
Posted 05 August 2012 - 22:46
Kenny130pd, on 05 August 2012 - 17:42, said:
You don't need a solicitors. Just file a small claim against him (if going to CA doesn't prove fruitful and the police cant be arsed) online which costs around £45. You have nothing to prove, so don't need a solicitor. You have a signed for proof of delivery and posts on here of him selling a car with said tuning box.
You could try contacting his credit card company, but would you know what company it is? They wouldn't discuss a customer with you anyway and they really aren't going to be bothered over £124 anyway as in their eyes it isn't really fraud, especially on the level they deal with (swmbo is a fraud manager for a bank!). I will however ask her if there is anything that can be done prior to filing a small claim for you.
#26
Posted 06 August 2012 - 09:31
#27
Posted 06 August 2012 - 16:48
Kenny130pd, on 05 August 2012 - 22:10, said:
Unlikely, as we have the ability to see who's posting from a particular IP address, if two members are posting from the same IP address, it's easy for us to see that.
I hear that they have some pretty good detectives on Pistonheads and car forum members the world over hate con artists.
#28
Posted 06 August 2012 - 18:39
#29
Posted 06 August 2012 - 18:58
Kenny130pd, on 06 August 2012 - 18:39, said:
#30
Posted 06 August 2012 - 19:26
0 User(s) reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users













