A little help identifying the following earth points (pics included)

Before I begin, I am a rookie and don't know a lot about cars at all.

Below is an image of the Electrical Diagram for the Instrument Cluster on my 1.3 Felicia (click to enlarge)

Everything up to and including contact point "u" works ok but "v" through "z" does not work (coolant temp gauge, voltage stabiliser?, rev counter, fuel guage, fuel low warning light).

2mdnv39.jpg

I wanted to remove the instrument panel and get a look in underneath at the wiring but fell short at removing the Steering Wheel's retaining nut as I didn't have the adequate tool with me so that will have to be done another time.

In the meantime, I removed the lower shroud from the steering column to see if I could locate the E5 Earth Point in case that was the culprit. However when I removed the shroud I was met with the following view..

30j74vc.jpg

As far as I can see, it looks like there are 2 earth points here (arrowed).

Have I identified these as Earth points correct? I could get in at the one on the left which looked in fairly good condition but i gave it a cleaning anyway. However the one on the right appears to have several brown wires with connectors attached to it and it is not easily accessible to me with the cheap spanner/wrench combos that I use.

My questions, which of those earth points is point E5 as is described in Haynes as being "Next to `Steering Column" because both of those seem to fit that description, and is it normal to have only one connector on one side and at least 4 on the other side? A closer view of both points can be seen below..

35lzyvp.jpg

Left Side of Column

hvz7nr.jpg

Right Side of Column

Don't quote me on this, I would have to check the skoda factory diagrams to confirm, but I think the one on the left of the steering column is for the heater loom.