skoda superb VOSA recall done then timing chain problem...help

lg10hmc

I have a skoda superb 2010 elegance tsi 1.8 DSG

serviced by main dealer all the time. 49,000 miles

Had in 2013 a warranty claim for clutch pack

Had water pump repalced in 2013

last weekend I took car to skoda citygate colindale for a VOSA recall. Collected car and within 15 miles had yellow exhaust warning light and major judder when at rest. Took car back. Surprise surprise Citygate say nothing to do with the recall work and its a total coincidence that i now have a possible camshaft problem and stretched timing chain. They want £192 to investigate further and likely an additional £500 for new timing chain.... They refuse to accept it has anything to do with VOSA recall work.

I'm not technical but find it hard to accept that a car running perfectly should have a major problem within 15 miles of leaving a garage where engine work has been done.

are Skoda right?

Help please

• Like 1

Welcome to Briskoda. :) What was the VOSA recall for? My Octavia II has the same engine and I am not aware of any recalls for its engine. On the other hand I am aware of timing chain tensioner problems affecting the 1.8/2.0TSi engines, and they can suffer from timing chain stretch too. If you are lucky you might get some warning and be able to replace both of those components for modified versions before the engine suffers major mechanical failure. Have a read of the thread below.

http://www.briskoda.net/forums/topic/266114-18tsi-and-20tsi-engine-failures/

Vosa recall:

http://www.vosa.gov.uk/vosa/apps/recalls/searches/expand.asp?uniqueID=B86ED30248824F0E8025765C0031A74F&freeText=Blank&tx=

REF 37F2

CLUTCH MAY OPERATE INADVERTENTLY WITH UNEXPECTED LOSS OF DRIVE

In rare cases an incorrect interpretation of the clutch temperature can occur which results in the clutch opening unexpectedly with loss of drive.

: Recall affected vehicles and update/reprogramme gearbox control unit.