Different turbo unit, vanes sticking again?

shogran

Hi guys,

I posted a while ago when I was having a problem with my '02 1.9 TDi Fabia's turbo dropping out between about 2000 and 3000 RPM in 5th gear or when accelerating up a particularly steep hill and the like. I originally replaced the MAF sensor with a cheap compatible part, this didn't fix the problem so I tried the Mr Muscle technique which worked for a few weeks before the same again.

Eventually I opted to change the turbo, however being a poor student I bought a used one from the forums here and got the Uni mechanics to fit it. It's not as frequent now, but I still have it drop out with high revs in 5th gear occasionally. It's not unbearable and simply turning the engine off and on again while rolling resets it but it is an annoyance. I was just wondering if anyone could suggest anything I might have missed, should I try to replace the MAF again with a Bosch branded one? Is it more likely that the used turbo I bought also had carbon build up and I'm experiencing more sticky vanes?

Any input would be appreciated. Cheers!

Checked the vacuum solenoid block where I think the N75 is housed on my Fabia, all the hoses seem clear. The unit itself is sealed so I can't check inidividual components within.. £200 for a new one though so hoping it isn't this. Used a cheap OBD II Bluetooth adapter and the Torque app on my phone, no faults listed.

Not sure if it's the MAP as I got an intake manifold pressure reading of 0.99 Atm which is where I think it should be when standing. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

your MAP is close enough   can you rig a vac line and gauge tapped into the turbo control line to see if anything odd is happening ---assume you've thoroughly checked all the vac pipes  and you have sufficient vac at all times?  p.s always start with the cheap and simple stuff :sun: