Contemplating a purchase - a couple of questions

Hi all

I've currently got a mk 2 FL 1.4 TSI manual - looking at possibly getting a mk 3 but just got a couple of questions....

Is the 1.4 TSI in the mk 3 a noticeable upgrade on the mk 2 1.4 TSI?  I believe it's higher power and more torque in the mk 3.

What sort of real world MPG are people getting from it (with DSG if poss as this is what I'm looking at)?

Thanks.

Steve.

I changed my Mk2 for a Mk3 with same spec - 1.4TSi Elegance with a DSG. The build quality is far superior & although I don't drive it hard the engine has all the power I need. I am no mechanic but the engine just sounds & feels more refined.

The car is almost 1 year old & is averaging 50mpg as compared to the Mk2 which gave about 45mpg.

Edited by kalpat

I've only driven the old 1.4 once, but as far as I can remember it felt a good deal slower than the current one - maybe a second slower to 60 or something of that order? It's surprisingly torquey in higher gears and has a lot of go in 2nd and 3rd. Plenty of power for your average driver and it's quite fun to boot it once in a while. I think it's a great little engine actually. Mine's a manual.

I also have the manual 1.4TSi, and whilst I haven't driven the old mk2 I can imagine that it is an upgrade. More power, more torque and less weight, how can you go wrong? I came from a diesel and I have to say that I reckon this is absolutely the best of both worlds.

I was doing 50.5mpg on the maxidot (47.8mpg calculated by me) until I went on holiday with a roofbox on, combining motorway driving with some big hills at the other end. That knocked it down a couple of mpg. I mostly do motorway driving sitting at "more or less" the speed limit. If I sit exactly at the speed limit I can get the maxidot into the high 50's for a single trip.