Skoda 1.2 Power steering Fluid Low?

sulayman95

Just checked the power steering fluid and it seemed pretty low. Checked it with the dipstick and it does not even make contact with it. No fluid at all touches the dipstick. When I screw it right in it makes d slightest touch but is no way near the marker it should be in.

Should I be worried? 

I'm going to top it up asap. Can I use any power steering fluid?

Thanks

no stick with VW stuff--better still while your in there if you have the means suck it out of the res ' and refill

Why can't he use hydraulic oil to top up per my advice, it's just a hydraulic pump with two hydraulic hoses and a hydraulic steering rack the same as every other power steering system on every other car?

You're going to need a very good reason why I've been doing it wrong for 30 years!

• Like 1

Just checked the power steering fluid and it seemed pretty low. Checked it with the dipstick and it does not even make contact with it. No fluid at all touches the dipstick. When I screw it right in it makes d slightest touch but is no way near the marker it should be in.

Should I be worried? 

I'm going to top it up asap. Can I use any power steering fluid?

Thanks

Not sure I'd use the word worried, but you should certainly be curious about where this fluid has gone.  The system shouldn't 'use' any fluid really, so the fact that it is low means you have a leak.  Topping it up will not fix this, but it may be such a slow leak as to be almost irrelevant, unless you have a very fancy driveway that you can't bear to have oil drips on.

Why can't he use hydraulic oil to top up per my advice, it's just a hydraulic pump with two hydraulic hoses and a hydraulic steering rack the same as every other power steering system on every other car?

You're going to need a very good reason why I've been doing it wrong for 30 years!