Ooh, Mk. 2 and 3 VRS's are a bit dodgy aren't they? I'll be keeping my Mk. 1 for ever! :)

Heya all...

So had my Mk. 1, 2001 VRS for 4 years now, during which I have got her up to 140k pretty trouble-free, but fun fun fun miles! However, as she ages and gets more leggy, I start looking at Mk. 2's and Mk. 3's, with a view to maybe getting one to replace mine in a year or two.

I work as a Paramedic, and I had an RTC to attend to today (no real injuries you'll be pleased to hear...)

Anyway, the Bib also arrived to close the road off for us, in an unmarked car, a lovely Mk. 3 VRS. Looked great sitting there, in silver, with all the hidden blues going :D

After we had dealt with the incident, I said to the Policeman how nice it was, and how did he like driving the VRS? He was generally enthusiastic about it - good performance, good handing, comfortable, capacious load space etc.

However, he then threw me a curve ball which I wasn't expecting!! He said that this one, plus two others on his force, had suffered a total destructive engine failure, all at under 70,000 miles - from snapped timing chains!

I had no idea that the later models had gone over to a chain from a belt? But I know now! And it appears that it is a bit of an Achilles' heel - looking round the net, and on here, I have found more than a few cases of chain failure.

This has now put me off an upgrade - and made me want to stick with my Mk. 1 for ever, lol! Maybe I will, and it will end up like Trigger's broom...

Anyone else heard of this or had it?

The facelift mk2 vrs fitted with the TSI engine have had some early engine timing chain tensioner failures,mine is a pre facelift mk2 vrs which has a cambelt & has been/is a great car,its a vast improvement over my mk1 vrs that had(in my opinion).