Working a skoda yeti

Treeskoda

Hi everyone

I am new to the forum and I was hoping you could help me decide whether I am making the right choice. I am a freelance tree surgeon/forester I mainly travel down country roads and forest tracks, sometimes quite rough! I carry a good boot full of gear, saws, climbing kits etc probably around 150 to 200 kg. I have 3 kids also so would like to be able to accommodate them if required. We have our family car also but now and again it would be useful to be able to take them on school runs etc. I also now and again need to pull 1.5tons (not too heavy) The obvious choice I know is a pick up I.e hilux, l200 etc but after owning a few and test driving am amarok whilst my caddy was getting serviced the other day I still believe they are big heavy trucks which are expensive to run, and unless you need the benefit of extra off road performance or carrying extra weight then really they are a bit big for what I need.

I like the yeti and with a decent set of tyres fitted to a set of 16 x 7 steel wheels I think it could do everything I need it to. Is there a model (obviously a 4x4 model) that is better equipped for off roading I.e one with extra suspension lift or an off road button? Or are there any mods that are known to aid a more rugged lifestyle.

Thanks

Andrew

You'll find the 'outdoor' diesel for a family and all the kit a 'compact' situation but otherwise a great driver compact crossover.

It's quite heavy and bluff fronted aero means relatively ordinary economy at speed....but a delight on B roads in particular.

The ability to remove any or all rear seats is a big feature and if size is acceptable for your need and if you can claim business expenses as well, it would be difficult to think of anything, car like, better.

The Yeti is a VERY capable family vehicle and a good workhorse.

Last year one of the local council trucks got stuck in the local park as their wheels were unable to gain traction on the muddy grass.