HELP! Removing turbo from TDI 4x4

Bjornm

Friends,

I have been tampering with motors, cars and mortorcycles for almost 50 years, and I have never been forced to give up a project. Until now. I am now trying to remove the turbo from my 2000 Octavia Estate 4x4 (AGR engine). It's a splendid car, but after developing the dreaded limp mode in steep uphills, I decided to remove the turbo for cleanup and servicing.

But -  even being from the north of Norway, I have never been swearing so heavily in all my life. The thing is impossible to get out!!

I have removed everything, down to the oil pipes to reach the thing.

The turbo in an AGR engine has a wastegate, which I suspect is hanging. I know of the Mr. Muscle trick to free the vanes in THE OTHER type of turbo, but I think it is of no use in this case (no vanes). The wastegate valve is kind of outside the turbo first stage, and maybe the Mr. Muscle cleaning wouldn't work so well here. I think the whole thing should go out and on to the bench for a proper cleaning.

BUT - I cannot get the f-ing thing out!!!  :devil:

The exhaust pipe is detached, the drive axle is loosened and moved aside, the intake manifold and all piping is out, and it seem now to be two ways of getting the thing out.

One is to detach the exhaust manifold with the turbo still attached. Good plan, only six more nuts to loosen. But the second bottom nut from the register end is inaccessible! The bulk of the turbo itself makes it impossible to attach any tool to the nut! I can get a wrench (good offset) over the nut, but I cannot turn it! No socket in earth will reach the nut because of the turbo. Conclusion: I cannot remove the manifold.