Turn engine on warning

killy

I have been photographing barn owls under license for the past 6 months using my Yeti as a hide.

whilst sat in it last night with the radio on and the ignition switched off -  the warning   "switch engine on"   flashed up on the maxi dot - never noticed it before.

Has anyone seen this ? and what does it mean ?

Regards

Mike

https://www.flickr.com/photos/55985722@N08/

My guess would be a low voltage warning - mine simply switches everything off to avoid a battery too low in voltage to restart.

• Like 2

My Yeti allows the the radio to run with the ignition off for 30 mins before that message appears, then automatically switches the radio off after another 15 secs.

• Like 3

My Yeti allows the the radio to run with the ignition off for 30 mins before that message appears, then automatically switches the radio off after another 15 secs.

Yes I have noticed that

My guess would be a low voltage warning - mine simply switches everything off to avoid a battery too low in voltage to restart.

That had occured to me but wasn't sure

Some exceptional photos there Mike!

Thank you

Shouldn't be allowed - making people waste all their spare time looking through dozens and dozens of brilliant photos!! Bet you've spent more than a couple of quid on your photo equipment  :)

I came back off holiday recently to a totally flat battery. Charged it up again and it's been OK ever since. I decided in the end that it was my dash cam that had caused it. Although it was switched off at the camera it must still have been drawing power through the 'cigarette lighter socket' (for want of a better term) which is a pain being always live.

At least for you, the car was preventing battery drainage to the point of not being able to re-start. Good to know it does that although I haven't experienced it yet.

• Like 1

Correct!!

Had it a few times when my battery was going and I was doing radio on a rally.

Goes with a "BONG" noise when you open the door.