Fixing EGR excessive flow fault permanently.

So it's MOT time and the Fabs being naughty, dead battery during the week (ECP £35, blinding value) and the ultra-persistent CEL with DTC 16786 which I've been ignoring for six months.

Time to fix it, weather forecast good, test match finished early and no other plans for the weekend so started yesterday after lunch:

Stripped off air cleaner engine cover, battery and complete battery box, drained coolant for reuse, disco'd and removed coilpack and lay it on cam cover, removed rad top hose from thermostat housing to allow access to loathsome 10mm bolt holding invisible EGR link pipe clip.

Released EGR link pipe from inlet plenum 2 x M5 allen screws and very tight access behind the gear linkage cables, caught steel gasket as it dropped out, released EGR valve block from exhaust manifold, 2 x M6 allen screws, dropped steel gasket and retrieved, disco'd air bleed and multiplug and removed entire EGR valve and link pipe assembly in one big lump.

Disco'd and removed throttle body, 4 x M5 allen bolts, disco'd injector loom from injectors and moved aside, removed fuel rail complete with injectors, 2 x M5 allen bolts and swung to one side.

Disconnected brake servo vacuum line from plenum, ditto EVAP vacuum line, disco'd MAP sensor, released inlet manifold, 6 x M6 allen screws, left the top middle screw until last to support assembly then removed entire manifold and plenum in one lump.

Ran it a bath using a dexion tub and 5L of Tetrosyl engine degreaser and proceeded to strip everything to its constituent parts, EGR valve assembly, 2 x 13mm hex screws, gave everything except the valve a bath, the valve itself and the throttle body got a stand-up wash, removed that loathsome EGR link pipe support clip and threw it in the bin.