Actual Adblue usage

Obscuredavid

Thank you for the info! It's something I've been wondering about as a soon-to-be 150tdi owner. Having looked through the Audi forums the A3 owners seem to get around 6-7k per top up but they have a 17 litre tank! I must admit had I considered the (minor) inconvenience and extra cost of Adblue along with the fact it takes up some valuable boot space if you don't have the raised floor then I'd have probably opted for the 1.4 petrol. Diesel motoring seems to be becoming more and more of a hassle lately.

I've no knowledge of using Adblue, but I'll just add to this that most Shell filling stations sell Adblue and have done for years, it is just something that I've noticed - that is all, just in case price is different from that source.

Most larger petrol stations sell it in 10L containers as well as via the pump (for HGV’s) not much use for a Yeti but for cars with the adblue cap next to the fuel cap it’s ideal as it’s a lot cheaper to buy it via the pump (60p per litre is the cheapest I have seen it)

Whilst it is not impossible to refill the 10L container via the pump it is hard work as the nozzle ‘needs’ to be in the filler neck for the adblue to flow freely, otherwise it will keep cutting out.

Like Jimrod I would like to opt for the 1.4 petrol. It is a pity that it is only available with the L and K which is a bit expensive and not to everyone's taste interior-wise. As I said in another thread, Skoda UK should be offering the 1.4 petrol in SE and SEL trims as well.

• Like 2

Thanks for that info David.

My warning came on at 4950 miles,it's now on 5300 miles and giving a range left of 1300 miles.

I'll be refilling at about 6000 miles. Thats about 20%motorway,10%urban and 70% A&B road driving.

I'll contact my dealer next week (Lincoln.) and see what they quote for cost. :thumbup:

Definitely a stupid question...

What the heck is Adblue and What does it do?