Rusting discs and missing fog light

jonbenj

I took delivery of my yeti last June, 2nd owner, Skoda approved, 13000 miles. I've never been a fan of extended oil changes and cos I'm towing a caravan I decided to opt for the fixed service regime. I had it in at my local dealers last week for "my" first service, at 24000 miles. Fully expecting this to be a formality I was surprised to receive a call from the dealers informing me that the rear discs are shot.

I've read elsewhere on here about similar issues at lowish miles, all down to driving style, not using them enough etc. etc.

Since I got the car it's been pretty much used every day, including a cross country commute which involves negotiating a fairly steep gorge, so whilst I pride myself on being a reasonably smooth driver, I'm confident that the brakes should have been getting a reasonable work out. Factor in the caravan towing and I'm damn certain they've been well used. Given that the rear discs are well grooved, what are the chances that the damage was done before I got the car, and if so, should the supplying dealer have picked it up?

The other issue the garage flagged up involves the rear fog lights. Only the near side light comes on, but no bulb failure is indicated and the bulb on the off side has been checked. My garage think it might be the tow bar installation but apparently they reckon on a couple of hours to strip it and investigate.

Can anyone confirm whether or not a 2014 FL should have 1 or 2 fog lights illuminated as standard. As far as I can figure out, the towbar lighting is otherwise ok: it appears to be linked to the canbus as the fog light goes out when you plug in the caravan, and the car seems to recognise when the caravans hitched up.

I've read elsewhere here about the issues with trying to make both bulbs illuminate via vcds but don't know if that applies to all models.

Apologies for the lengthy post, I look forward to your thoughts.

John.