53 plate Octavia - Intermittent lumpy idle, juddering acceleration, smell of fuel,

Hi all,

This may end up being a long one, so I'll apologise for my length immediately. :)  I'm looking for reassurance really that I'm going the right way.  Money is tight (isn't it always?) and I have no car mechanical knowledge.  I will try to explain this as best I can.  Any responses would be gratefully appreciated.  Bear in mind, that apart from throttle body cleaning (mentioned later) my mechanic will be doing the work (when money allows) and I need to have things explained to me as if I were a 5 year old.

I have a stock 53 plate Octavia Elegance 4x4 1.8T which I'm in need of some assistance with.  I bought the car about two years ago (two previous owners) with 33k on the clock. Previous owners kept the car garaged and due to mobility issues didn't use it that much.  FSH on the car and in almost mint condition.  I've been very pleased with it up until recently.

Although still a pleasure to drive, it had since I bought it, want to give it the beans (and the turbo would kick in for a second) when I was accelerating out of a corner/junction, it would then jolt as the acceleration returned to normal.  Not too much of an issue I thought and lived with it.

At its next service I got my mechanic to check the codes and they came back with:

• 17705 Pressure drop between turbo and throttle valve P1297 - Intermittent (I've read the sticky)
  • 17545 Fuel Trim bank 1 (Add) System too rich P1137 _

On 5th April 2016 on its latest full service the car had its Cam Belt replaced.