Monte Carlo suspension

joshy87

Hi All,

Recently bought a monte estate and absolutely love it but I do have one minor bug bare. The ride is quite firm, I know that some see this as a plus but as I regularly do 2- 3 hour drives you do notice this after a while. I have had cars that crash over pot holes in the past and its no where near that bad but I would describe it as firm in the sense that you do feel every undulation or bump in the road and for example crossing lanes on the motorway you feel quite a bump over the cats eyes.

My question is would there be a relatively cheap way to make the ride a little less harsh? I am a complete novice with stuff like this and not mechanically minded at all. Its currently got low profile tyres on too so I thought other than the suspension a different set of tyres might help? I can live with it as stated its not that bad just thought I would check if anyone else has made any mods that didn't cost the earth? Appreciate usually people are wanting to go the other way and lower it etc, maybe im getting old :)

Thanks in advance

Josh

Hi, I'm another Josh who found my Monte estate's ride too harsh. I swapped the wheels for 16" rims from the A1 with 215/45 tyres. They are nearly identical diameter so no need to adjust the speedo. I found the slight width increase + increased tyre profile greatly improve the ride.

Thanks for replies, I might just swap the shocks, does anyone have an idea of the cost of standard shocks? I thought about changing the wheels but I love the black rims and mine are immaculate so would be a real shame to swap them. My tyres are really low profile so bigger tyres could well help too, they are almost brand new tho!