Leaking radiator Fabia vrs

Hello All,

I am new to Briskoda having just purchased a Fabia VRS 05' plate having always wanted one. I took some time to find a decent one with straight bodywork and half decent mileage, FSH etc.

However.... I am loosing a small amount of coolant and on further inpsection the lower OS radiator corner is wet with antifreeze, so it looks like I have a radiator in need of replacement.

I am half handy with the spanners and I have scoured the site but I cannot find a guide to replacing a radiator on the VRS? Does anyone know if a guide has been produced of can anyone offer advice on how to approach this job?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Try tightening the thermoswitch a little before condemning the rad. They seem to often develope leaks from there.

Nah, forget that. I see you mention O/S now I look again.

Edited by Wino

Thanks for your reply Wino. Thinking about it again the wet antifreeze is on the NS (Passenger side)of the rad bottom not the OS as I put in my first post. I m presumming it could be a leak from the thermoswitch and not the rad? Is this a common problem and is the thermoswitch easy to access and tighten or does it need to be removed and a new seal fitted?

This recent thread shows where it is. The model pictured has the battery mounted a bit further back than I think you'll find it on yours, so visibility and access from above may be difficult. From below will probably be the way to go.  There is no seal, it's just the brass flange of the thermoswitch against the plastic of the radiator.

Edited by Wino