1.4 16v aub engine pinking

Johnr990

Hi all,

Last week or so cleaned my egr pipe - blocked, reset codes, light back on with same code. Saturday took off egr valve and cleaned out and replaced. Light back on with same error code as below.

Monday, 04 August 2008, 13:03:49

VAG-COM Version: Release 409.1-US

Control Module Part Number: 036 906 034 BK

Component and/or Version: MARELLI 4LV 3700

Software Coding: 00071

Work Shop Code: WSC 17018

Additional Info: TMBHD46Y113225927 VWZ7Z0Y3280642

1 Fault Found:

16786 - EGR System: Excessive Flow

P0402 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent

Engine also pinking under load/acceleration.

My egr pipe has been blocked for about a year now engine not pinking, now unblocked pinking has returned (it used to do this from new when warmed up)

I have read many threads here about turning egr valve down using VAG com and also about adapting it. I am a newbie VAG com and would like to know how to turn it down and/or adapt it, as I cannot find facility in VAG com.

Can anyone help please?

Just an update on this;

Monday I tried to reduce egr flow by following the instructions provided by ross-tech wiki. Could not log in using 12233 as the access code, so I looked through the adaptation channels to find one that had the value of 32768 - chanel 15 had 32767 s I thoght bingo and proceeded to change it to 33768 as the instruction. There was no noticible difference at idle so I saved the change and drove home. On my way home I noticed the car pulling up sometimes on changeover from cruising to accelerating and a lack of power going up steep hills, however the engine warning light was out all the time and the pinking was massively less but not altogether gone!

Last night I checked chanel 15 again and found the value now 580! at idle and engine temp normal, so I bravely reset it back to 32767 and took car for test drive. Car now feels back to normal, more power going uphill but pinking like heck under load at normal running temp.