I know this has been touched on before but my problem is a little different.

My Felicia 1.3LX was idling at 700 - 750 revs, but under braking the engine just cut out, repeatedly. I went to see my friend who tried to fix it 'temporarily' and tightened my throttle cable and squirted carb cleaner (which I wasn't happy about) into the throttle body. It then started idling at 2000 - 2500 revs, it then started reving higher and higher. I returned the throttle cable to where I thought it was, (it is now really loose), but then it was idling at a screaming 3500 revs. I've unpluged the block plug (I have no idea what it is for as I'm no mechanic) on the throttle body and its dropped the revs back down to around 2000 revs so I could get it home.

So from tightening the throttle cable to loosening it again my idle has totally gone haywire. I could really do with a little advice on what I need to do to get it back right again.

Does your car have a carburettor, single point injection or multi point injection? Either way, check the inlet manifold gasket, any vacuum hoses and in the case of carb and SPi models the gasket/rubber block between throttle body and inlet manifold for leaks. Also, if your car has a carb make sure the carb earth connection is good.

Its multi point injection.

I already checked the rubber block between the throttle body and the inlet manifold and all the hoses and there all good.

Edited by Francine