Octavia Elegance Estate tdi

My front wipers have stopped working. I have serached the site and manged to get to the motor and linkage. The wipers were a a nightmare to get off however after a lot of duck oil and leverage they came off. After removing the cover off the motor,the burshes seem ok. The linkage seems free enough, when I turn the motor. There's talk of a relay? I can't see anything? Can anyony help with the fuses? They all seem ok. Have I missed anything. I have put a multi-meter on the motor and I get 12v across two out of the 4 motor connections when the ignition is on (no change when I put the wipers on, always 12v). Is this correct? with the different wiper position, there's always 12v on the same two conections and nothing else? I'm not a auto electrician (just teacher!) so It doens't really make any sense to me. Can anybody please help? Thanks in advance.

Does sound rather like it might be a relay issue. When the linkage fails it tends to be indicated by the wipers moving slower and more juddery to start with, and then it gets worse. Or maybe the wiper motor has failed.

Found the large relay as advised (thank you). It looked ok, replaced it and nothing... however after a few taps the wipers started to work! I suspect the relay will need replacing but is there anything that can be done to prolong it's life? Ran out of daylight so will have the job of putting everything back together again in the morn. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks again.

Found the large relay as advised (thank you). It looked ok, replaced it and nothing... however after a few taps the wipers started to work! I suspect the relay will need replacing but is there anything that can be done to prolong it's life? Ran out of daylight so will have the job of putting everything back together again in the morn. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks again.

Maybe the contacts need cleaning. The quickest way to do this is remove and replace the relay 10 times. Nothing to lose.