Nelly the elegance

amwphotos

It was about time I got something a bit newer after the last 10 years with a 2001 renault megane 1.9dci and 190,000 miles!

I was after a diesel Octavia estate, manual (no one can say how the dsg will be in 100,000 miles time!), preferably elegance, and around 2013 reg. I couldn't decide between the 2.0 and 1.6 tdi, so when I saw a 64 plate 2.0 tdi estate elegance at the local dealer I went for a test drive. It went well! Low mileage at 16,000 but a bit more expensive than I wanted. Otherwise it was ideal and there didn't seem to be many near me in west Wales appearing for sale, so I took the plunge.

I always wanted an Octavia since they were first brought out, and it's going to get used a lot. I love the outdoors I'm a field ecologist and photographer so my car is a pretty essential tool.

I've been reading various posts on here and it's a mine of useful information, and quite a few things I'd like to do.

Now for my plans...

Front mudguards

Rear bumper load protector

Reinforce the raised floor for sleeping in the back, and carting heavy stuff!

Activate roadsign recognition (I have full beam assist so I believe it's do-able)

Sort out headlight alignment (the right one is stupidly low)

Bonnet gas struts

Repair one alloy which has slight kerb damage (not by me)

Brighter (LED) puddle lights

Brighter (LED) boot lights

Door sill covers

There's other stuff I'd love to do, but there's a pretty slim chance.

LED rear lights and xenon front with LED DRL's

Rear difuser or vRS rear bumper

Mudguards were first, I live in a rural area and mud and muck on the roads is very common. They were a cheap buy from superskoda. I phoned the garage and they quoted a ridiculous price to fit them.