Aftermarket Audio on Scala with oem Amundsen head unit.

Steve8O

Starting a little project inspired by @JohnnyType2 and his aftermarket sound system - 

The sound system in my Scala SEL is actually quite good, delivering a fair amount of punch and body to most music.  However it is not overly crisp or clean in anyway, and above 50% volume starts to distort quite rapidly, and above 60% it full on crackles.  It doesn't have the digital sound package as mentioned by others in Octys and Superbs, and the head unit isn't automatically doing a bass roll-off,  so there is no loss of bass as the volume is cranked, just sounds like they will blow.

I am by no means and audiophile or wanting a full competition setup, nor do I have the budget for it.  However,  I am a hobbyist and enjoy tinkering and improving things where I can on a decent budget.  So what I am wanting to do is, keeping the original headunit, add in an active subwoofer, replace all the standard loudspeakers and tweeters with aftermarket components and run them off a 4channel amp.

I think, it would look something like this...

AudioDiagram.thumb.jpg.7940c3b054a1aec9c1b1c4735878ff73.jpg

I am thinking of placing the 4Ch Amp as close to the headunit as possible, under passenger seat (or in footwell up behind glove box if possible, although this may be hazardous for passengers if within striking distance of outstretched legs)  reason I want it to be clear is that I would like to keep original speaker cable in place through door jambs etc. So cut speaker cable at headunit, extend it and run it to the amp, then run it back and reconnect it to cut cable heading off to speakers.  

Power from battery with fuse to the amp and then in relay to the active sub enclosure.

REM on from Head Unit Aerial Power? again in relay.