Blue coolant in X reg Fabia 1.4 16v

Hi all.

I bought my car from a car dealer about 6 months. Prior to picking up the car they had it serviced. To my horror I have just found out that they used the old blue coolant and not the G12 as indicated by Skoda/VAG. Now, I am not an expert but this sounds like recipe for trouble. Is it really so? Any suggestions on how about resolving this would be greatly appreciated.

G12 turns into a sticky gloop like hair gel if it comes into contact with G10 or G11 coolant. System would need to be totally flushed with running water to make sure all traces of anti freeze flushed out, then refill with G12

Many thanks MoggyTech.

Any ideas on how much it should cost to have the system flushed?

On another note, I just checked again and it seems that coolant in there is blue/green. Am I right in thinking that there is a chance that there could be a leak? If so, is that something that could be easily fixed?

Sounds like they just stuck some carplan **** in there buddy, which would account for the blue/green tinge. Unlikely to be a leak, you'd probably notice oil in the coolant if there was a leak somewhere. G12 is pink. Shouldn't be too much to have the system flushed - will the dealer not do it for you as it was their error and the manual quite clearly states that only G12 should be used.

If you put coolant other than G12 in a moden VAG car it dulls the expansion tank plastic!

I was told this by a VW tech once, not sure how true it is tho my fabia has always had G12 but when I first brought my Arosa it had blue coolant in it and the expansion tank was a brown color!