Monte Tech to Vrs...

Hi all,

I have had my monte tech 1.6cr  for 4 months now and its been a great car,, but due to changes at work i don`t have to pay for fuel,,, so was thinking about a Vrs,, i`m after some general thoughts...

james.

Well you are obviously familiar and happy with the fabia II in general. I'm presuming that the CR you have is 5 speed manual?

I'd certainly agree that a test drive would really confirm the differences but I imagine that the real difference other than power (POWAH!) would be the 7speed DSG box.

I'm new to DSG (and auto boxes) myself, but have found the transition pleasant. The main difference for me (other than trying to resist pressing the clutch peddle in, and subsequently smashing my face against the steering wheel as I apply the brakes as hard as I can) is that unlike a manual you have no clutch control whatsoever. This seems obvious but it's weird to control slow maneuvers (forwards or backwards) with the brake instead. Having said this it's not hard and the VRS seems very happy to edge along in slow traffic etc.

For tired morning commutes automatic "D" mode is best for me, depending on how hard you accelerate depends on how long it holds gears etc, and the box adapts to your driving style with different shift programs. For spirited commutes home from work I love manual mode changing gear myself with the paddles. Even in manual mode the car will still shift down if you're going to slow for a gear.

It's funny but I drive my semi-auto car in manual mode most of the time. I've found in D there is sometimes a delay you wouldn't get from a manual whilst the car decides what to do (it hesitates sometimes) and sometimes when driving in D I will use a paddle to either shift up or shift down to correct the gearboxes decision (i.e. put it in 6th instead of 5th just as I hit 30mph to be more economical)