Excessive oil consumption

Hi , I am new to Skoda, picked up Fabia VRS end of May. Drinks oil and has had new bottom end put in at 4700 miles to cure early in September. 6 weeks and 800 miles later oil warning light on. Car done 5500 miles the last 1000 barely exceeding 3000rpm whilst running in.  has anyone had similar issues with oil. Am I unlucky or is there a real problem with the 1.4 180Bhp engine.

YES, is the answer to your question, you will find lots of oil threads on here about Fabia VRS MK II, you will also get a lot of opinions too.

I had issues with our car, we did not get as far as a new engine but did get breather mods and lots of other bits and pieces done, oil usage is still not brilliant at about a litre every 1500-2000 miles.

One thing that does seem to be prominent is the usage of the car, short journeys will increase oil usage as will running in. I know two cars that have been driven hard from new and these cars do not use any oil, our car does short journeys and is driven steady by my wife most of the time and uses oil.

Use your car, give it some hard driving and see if you get an improvement, or go back to Skoda and express your concerns for the new online oil usage figures.

Welcome to the forum too.

• Like 1

Running in was gentle, kept mainly below 3000rpm in first 500 miles then gradually pushed it up the rpm range but only in the first 4 gears, too fast to be anywhere near legal in 5 6 and 7. Not sure about exact change but Skoda said it was the entire bottom end, not just the pistons. Got the car at 2500 miles, no oil on stick after 1200 more, put a litre in then ran again for a further few hundred. then new bottom end at 4700 and by 5500 miles nothing on dip stick again. First time round skoda adamant that engine had a problem, second time it is now apparently normal to use nearly 1 litre in under 800 miles. Get the feeling they are not keen to sort the car properly.

Thanks for the welcome

• 2 weeks later...