Made a move from Superb I to Superb II

Nos

Hi All,

been a long time since I've posted here.

Over a month ago I've upgraded from 2005 Superb 1.9 TDI PD 130bhp Elegance with 160k Miles to 2014 Superb combi FL 1.6 GL Ambition/SE with 10k Miles.

So first of all the changes that I've noticed.

Power:
I would say I just needed to get used to it. I think 1.6 is adequate for easy driving and it suit my style. I only miss the extra power when I floor it. With you would have the power when you need it. At 1800RPM 1.9 would start showing off where as 1.6 because of 6 gears and being green most of the time I stay at ~1500RPM range. One thing that I do not miss is distinctive PD sound :)

I'm still learning to get the most economy out of it and I'm sure it will get better with time but at the moment I'm easily getting 4.7L/100km(60MPG) with full tank. With old Superb was getting 5.1-5.2L/100km(54-55MPG) and 4.7L/100km(60MPG) if I really tried. Here is a proof :) http://youtu.be/L1-Jstq8XQo?list=UUHKJe39V65cGFF8cIwarumg.

With the new Superb I was able to get 4.3L/100km(66MPG) for 300km strech which I think is good.

I'm still learning the way the car behaves and also has to get used to start/stop system.

BTW: I think the gear change notification on maxidot is useless.

Interior:

I went for Combi mainly because I needed extra space when going on trips and also I think Combi does look much better than hatch.
Being Ambition this does not have all the fancy kit that Elegance had but I think it does have enough for interior.

After reading through this forum I've upgraded all interior with LEDs :)

BTW: Tried to change the number plate bulbs with CANBUS LEDs but I get error once both are changed. If only one is change no error.

Here are the things that I'm missing.
The lights:
The older one had Xenons and I really rarely used high beam lights on it. On the new one it feels like the road is lit by candles :(