Replacing the Bolero radio

Richard1582

I have just purchased a 66 plate Yeti with the Bolero radio with the SD card slot. I wish to purchase a replacement which has the bluetooth , DAB radio, reads SMS out. But I'd like one to have a sat nav in also without paying a complete fortune. Sokda said it would be 2k for them to upgrade the system and activate the voice controls. 

Can anybody advice me on how easy it would be to remove the Bolero system and buy a different one to install in its place? 

I'm a novice but would prefer to read and watch how to videos and do it myself. 

If you're going to go down the OEM route then you'll hit Component Protection, which is the new level of anti theft security VAG are deploying now. Essentially, if you remove your Bolero and install it in someone elses car then it locks itself. If you take a working Amundsen system from another car and install it in yours then it locks itself. In both cases they're pretty much useless after that unless you find someone to remove the lock for you. That my friend will cost you a few hundreds of £££. Main dealers have access to Skoda HQ where they can code the new unit to your car (possibly, depending on the dealers level of expertise etc.) but as you've found out it aint cheap.

Aftermarket. I don't know what's available to suit your requirements.

I have in the workshop a VW Discover Media (same as the Amundsen but VW brand) which I'm playing with at the moment, and should be able to offer a solution for you if and when I find the time to actually get on with it. I've had it installed in my Yeti (pre facelift) briefly, but had issues with the existing Bluetooth conflicting with it. I'll have another go sometime and clear the bugs out, then it'd be the right sort of solution you're looking for (albeit VW branded).

• Like 1

Thanks for that, i didn't actually know about the locking out. But in fairness i am looking to replace the Bolero, not looking to use it in another car.