Advice on buying a Skoda Octavia

harry999

Hello fellow members,

I hope everyone is doing well. I'm after some advice as I'm no expert in cars.

I've used Skoda Octavia a few years ago and would like to purchase another but a new one this time.

I haven't had a new car in my life and this would be the first one (if I purchase). Also, it's a quite a bit of money for me but would like to treat myself :).

I came across this deal and wonder what's the experts advice on it. https://www.nationwide-cars.co.uk/cars/skoda/octavia/15-tsi-se-5dr-96198/

ideally, I'm looking for an automatic, saloon L size as I need some space, 1.5 as it's reasonable tax, and decent MPG.

looking forward to the answers :) 

You say you're looking for an automatic but the car you reference is manual. Skoda do not offer a 1.5 in auto in SE trim.

Best thing to do is go to the Skoda configurator and build the ideal car then look for offers.

Edit - if the car is just for general use, i.e. it's not always full of people or you're not towing anything, then test drive the 1.0 engine which does come in Auto form.

Edited by kodiaqsportline
  • Thanks 1

2 minutes ago, kodiaqsportline said:

You say you're looking for an automatic but the car you reference is manual. Skoda do not offer a 1.5 in auto in SE trim.

Best thing to do is go to the Skoda configurator and build the ideal car then look for offers.

Sure, there is a 3k difference between the dealer versus direct Skoda. 

Is it worth going via the dealer?

It's difficult to offer advice when buying a car is so personal, depending on the motivation for buying a car.

Sometimes we buy a new car because we need one.

Sometimes we buy a new car because we're bored or unhappy with our existing car. Or perhaps we anticipate some bills in the near future and don't wish to spend a lot of money on our existing car.

Sometimes we buy a new car because we want to treat ourselves, which is where you seem to be, @harry999.