Snow chains for vRS

Bodge

Driving to Austria soon and I'm trying to put a list of things i'll need together.

Top of the list is snow chains, as i have an often icy/snowy mountain road to drive up. Can you even get chains for a vRS? If not should i get some full on winter tyres? Or should I leave the car at the bottom and get the lift up?!

I've driven up there in a Suzuki Grand Vitara and even an Opel Corsa when its been bad, but I get the feeling that the vRS isn't all that capable in adverse conditions! Someone please tell me I'm wrong!

Oh, and has anyone ever driven with 4 people in the car, with the nearside rear seat folded down (for stashing skis etc)? The person on the middle seat obviously gets the short straw!

Cheers :snowman:

Hi Bodge,

I'm no expert on winter driving (even if we get a touch of snow now and then here in SW Sweden). But I would never go to Austria (or north Sweden) in winter without proper winter tyres, preferably studded. Don't know about your current tyre dimension, but wide tyres are awful on loose snow/sleet. I would choose 175/65 - 14" or something like that.

I've never used snow chains. Something of a last straw, I guess, and if I've understood it correct it's only mandatory on certain roads and under certain conditions. If you get them I suggest that you get familiar with them so that you know how to mount them when needed (without gloves in a blizzard and pitch dark :D )

A high visibility vest in your boot is mandatory. A foldable snow shovel might come in handy.

I would not stow the skis inside the car, sounds very uncomfortable. Do you have roof railings? In that case I would mount roof bars and put the skis there.

cheers for the feedback guys.

since its a 2000mile round trip, excluding driving in the UK, im gonna stick to my road tyres. for safety and fuel economy.

ill try and track down some chains, or similar.