Buying advice/comments

Hi guys

Think I'm in the right section but as I'm a newbie, be gentle.... I like it gentle. :)

I've about £4000 to spend on a MK1 Octy & the impression I get is that I'll probably be better off with a diesel as I cover about 10K miles/year. I've already tried an SDi & nearly fell asleep! Tried a TDi which felt much better but stupidly forgot to ask if it was the 90 or 110 bhp model. Is there an easy way of telling externally the difference between the 90 & 110? Probably prefer the hatch, more for my wife's benefit, (she thought my VR6 Corrado was a bit big), but are there any other benefits to the estate apart from the obvious space difference? Any other suggestions or advice gratefully accepted.

Cheers

RearAd

have a look round for the the Elegance model, you should be able to get a 110bhp for that money. the only external difference I know of telling the TDI's apart is

tdi = 90bhp

tdi = 110bhp

tdi = 130bhp

although it is easy to swap the badges.

Tried a TDi which felt much better but stupidly forgot to ask if it was the 90 or 110 bhp model. Is there an easy way of telling externally the difference between the 90 & 110?

The badge on the back will be one clue as has been mentioned , but that could have been changed. You can also look up the engine code if you get under the bonnet but it's easier to tell anyway based on the spec.

The Classic and Ambiente spec cars have the 90bhp engine.

Classic is basic spec - the Ambiente adds front electric windows and manual air-con , plus 15" alloys on most of them.

The Elegance (or the rarer and pricer L&K) has the 110bhp engine plus nice toys like climate control and a sunroof plus 16" alloys and all round leccy windows so it would be the one I'd aim for. From 53 plate on you could also get the 130bhp PD engine but they'll probably be too pricey for you - a six speed gearbox is the tell-tale sign here.