PD 140 fuel filter change

pixor

In an attempt to improve my fuel economy from 38mpg I have changed the air filter (well grubby) and run Millers through a couple of tanks. The result? 41mpg (woo)!

Someone at work has told me his mate changed the fuel filter on his A4 diesel and got a significant improvement in his mpg.

My question is, does this sound worth doing (it's cheap), and if so, could you give me instructions, as there isn't a Haynes manual available, and a search on briskoda hasn't revealed anything?

I've had my car for a few weeks, and it's done 32k and recently had it's 2nd variable service done (an 08 model). There's nothing in the service record that confirms a fuel filter change has occurred.

Thanks.

P.S. While I am reasonably practical, I am no mechanic, so a photo of the fuel filter and where it is would be a great start :rofl:

Hi

I changed mine at 16k and it was minging. It's easy to change - so can't hurt.

The filter housing position is the same for all VAG TDI engines but bring your VIN number to the dealer to get the exact right paper cartridge filter.

Below is an image and the filter housing is the silver topped can in the bottom left next to the windscreen washer cap.

Before you start place absorbant towels or similar around the filter and use a milk carton cut in half to catch the old filter and fuel.

The top of the fuel filter housing has four hoses coming into and out of it. DO NOT TOUCH THESE.

It has five or six screws holding it on. Remove these IIRC these are probably T25 screw bolts.

Once these are removed the lid is a tight fit - use a flat screw driver to separate the lid from the canister. It has a raised lip at one point in the rim for this purpose.

Reach into the can and pick out the paper cartridge filter. Note which way up is up then Discard.

Put the new one back in. Some have a hole in the top and bottom but mine (1.9TDI) had the hole in the top and was sealed at the bottom.