Roof bars help

I have a the estate and have been gifted a set of Thule roof bars by my father in law that he used on his Hyundai i40 estate a few years ago.

he has given me a foot pack which are labelled as as being for cars with flush roof rails - ‘rapid system 753’

according to the Thule website the compatible system for the mk IV estate is the 720600 foot pack and fitting kit 186096. 

my question(s) is(are):

could I use the 753 rapid system on my car?

if so, could I buy fitting kit 186096 and use in conjunction with that foot pack

or

would I have to buy a different fitting kit to use alongside the rapid system 753

or is it a case that I just need to fork out for the 186096 fitting kit and 720600 foot pack?

Apologies as total novice when it comes to roof bars!

I understanding is that the 753 is an older system which is gradually being replaced by the Evo etc systems; thus I doubt there will be a fitting kit for new car models like the Octavia Mk4. Probably worth checking direct with Thule though.

• Thanks 1

Have a look at this for compatability http://www.stilusosutazas.hu/custom/stilusosutazas/image/data/product/csomagtartok/Thule_Guide_2017.pdf

I would probably guess that if Thule give another part number to fit the new car then the 753 won’t work. I certainly wouldn’t risk it for a few quid, might have insurance implications. Especially if you’re carrying expensive stuff on the top like bikes or boats. Any load flinging itself off at speed could be fatal though which doesn’t warrant the risk. 

There does seem to be an issue with stock levels at the moment with Thule stuff - brexit/coronavirus related as usual I would have thought. 

Normally I would say pick up the spares you need on eBay but it seems the prices are high at the moment on there probably because of limited new stock. 

• Thanks 1

9 hours ago, GreenlineIIEstate said:

This is what I have on mine.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/383724471835