Am I mad for considering a 1.2tsi Fabia with 190k on the clock?

SIRHC

Hi there, 

Currently driving an almost 200k miles mk6 Fiesta diesel (1.4tdci - 2008) but looking for something a bit less battered, newer (age wise), and less likely to end up falling foul of any ULEZ type situation that might be on the horizon. 

I've been researching what's available online, and like the idea of a Skoda Fabia but don't have much of a budget (about £4k right now - original plan was to seriously look in the new year with around £5k+)

Seen one online (details below) that is within budget, looks smart, no cat S/N, MOT history looks good, but milage is 190k. 

SKODA Fabia

1.2 TSI Colour Edition Euro 6 (s/s) 5dr
2017 (66 reg)

£3,995

High mileage doesn't particulary worry me in a diesel, but petrol? 

TLDR: is a 1.2TSI AT 190K end of life?

I’m no expert and only been driving a Skoda since April but personally that sounds a lot of miles, especially for a petrol. Personally not sure I’d consider such high mileage but am no expert when it comes to Skoda expectations

Yeah, it is high, but my thought being it's likely "motorway miles" given the age. Is that any worse than 2k a year of school runs? I'm finding it all a bit daunting to be honest! 

Welcome.

So that it is running and if running well that is good.

Even with Skoda / VW having changed the Cam Belt recommendations and they are no longer @ 5 years or 50,000 or 60,000 or what ever this one should have been changed or will need to be changed.

Has the oil services been every 20,000 miles or sooner, and history of spark plug changes 1,2 or 3 times? 

Are all the tyres good, brakes looking ok, windscreen not chipped? 

Personally i think i would swerve it, but maybe it will go on 'All night mister', and someone gets a good car.  Doubt it though.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, SIRHC said:

Hi there,