Switched Live for Parking Sensors

GrahamM

As I'm not very good at judging distances, I'm going to install front and rear parking sensors on my Mark II 2012

I've bought a kit, but there are four connections:

Black: -12V Ground

Blue: +12V Brake light

Yellow: +12V Reversing light

Red: +12V Accessory line

It's the last one, Red, that's giving me problems as it needs to go to a switched live, ie one that's only active when the ignition is turned on, so the system isn't drawing power with the ignition off.

I've searched around in here and there's mentions of eg a connection to the radio, but is there anywhere in the boot area that I can connect to instead to avoid having to run an extra wire?

Normally the PDC / parking aid is supplied from fuse 9 - 5A.

The fuel pump under the rear seat is the closest user in the back I can think of. But if the PDC ever created a fault and blew the fuse troubleshooting would be a nightmare.

• Like 1
  • Confused 1

The PCD should sit in the RH side of the boot. Although not fitted, I would check and see if the wiring for it is there. A lot of times they use a standard harness in cars then connect up what is required and leave dangling what isn't. It is worth a look.

• Like 1
  • Confused 1