Radio Cut Out

Anyone else had a problem where every couple of minutes on the radio you get a very brief blank period/cut out before normal sound is resumed? Happens on all channels so nothing to do with reception. Any ideas? :confused:

Funnily enough , mine did this today , it seems to happen when the wipers are on 'intermittent' , i wonder if its something to do with the CANBUS wiring system? PS I was listening to a CD at the time , and it has doen this several times , always with wipers on inter.

Dmac shouldn't that read Canibus wiring system, all i ever get with that is flashing lights.;)

But seriously, what is a CANBUS wiring system when it's at home?

:cheers:

Delcac

As far as I am aware (i am no expert on these matters!) the facelift Octavia is equipped with CANBUS wiring , ie there are 2 wires running thru the whole car handling information for all the electrical equipment , rather than the standard wiring system where each peice of equipment has wires going to it from the central loom. If i have mucked this desciption up i apologise!

This is a bit technical but gives some idea of what the CANbus does:

CAN or Controller Area Network is a serial bus system designed for networking "intelligent" devices as well as sensors and actuators within a system.

CAN was originally developed by Bosch for passenger car applications. Nowadays, the majority of European carmakers are using CAN networks at least for the engine management. US carmakers have also decided to use CAN in power-engine applications, and the Asian companies have already started to develop CAN-based in-vehicle networks.