P0299 Fault code finally cured

I kept having this fault code rear its ugly head on me for a while now. The engine would sometimes be okay and then other days it would be underpowered. I checked the MAF sensor and that was working all in order. I checked all the boost hoses and vac hoses. They appeared all in order and I couldn’t see any obvious signs of damage or leaky joints. So I initially changed to the new revision diverter valve and took the car for a drive and the fault code came back. So I then changed to the new revision PCV valve and fitted it along with a new gasket. I could see that the valve was leaking and thought that was it. Or so I thought. I went out in the car for a drive and the fault code came back. I began thinking it might be the wastegate or something to do with the turbo. But then I had a moment of inspiration! I thought that it must be a sensor of some form that was giving incorrect readings. But I have no working knowledge of this engine, but thought they must all work pretty similar in design. Comparing it to my RS Focus and how that operated. I know the MAF sensor is fitted before the turbo. I thought there must be a sensor fitted after the intercooler to monitor boost pressure. I looked and saw a small sensor fitted above the throttle body and I proceeded to remove it. It was just held in by a torx screw. The sensor itself consisted of a metal wire hoop. Very similar to that of the MAF sensor. However it was covered in oil. The sensor is located near to where the PCV valve re-circulates into the inlet manifold. I got out my DX works brake part cleaner (also good for cleaning MAFs) Dowsed it heavily till all the oil film was dissolved and refitted. I took the car for a drive again and the engine instantly felt different. The was a lot more power and after a good drive of slow and fast driving. The fault code did not return. Happy Days! :)