Change or stick?

looking for advice as I'm not technical at all!

In May, I posted on here about replacing the EGR on my car (Fabia Estate 1.6 TDI CR 105 Elegance) 60 reg, 70,000 miles. Since then, I've been reading up this and the problems that diesels have with the DPFs.

Until I retired 18 months ago, I was doing a high mileage each week as my job took me all over the Scottish Highlands. The car was never a problem. However, I now use it only a few times a week and usually for return journeys of less than 30 miles. From what I have read, this sort of driving is not good for my car so I am wondering if I should change to a 1.2 TSI instead.

Arnold Clark garages are advertising 14 Reg 1.2 TSI 105 Elegance Hatchbacks from £8988 (with saving of over £6000 on cost new). Is this price because they are not the new Mk 111 models?

Grateful for any thoughts. My ex-husband always dealt with car matters, though a friend's husband told me I need not to be so gentle with it and I to thrash it more when I'm driving!!

30 miles is a decent length trip, which I would hope would get the engine and DPF hot enough to keep clean.

I've just done more or less the same thing - changed from a 2011 (85k miles) 1.6 diesel to a 2014 1.2 petrol (3k miles) - I only changed as I had concerns about a few warning lights that kept coming on, and that the price for the petrol was very competative.

I'm happy I changed - peace of mind with the warranty left on the car and I'm enjoying extra kit over the old one.  Tax is £90 more a year, but I'm getting good MPG at 45ish, compared to the diesels 52ish.

The Mk 2s do seem to be cheap at the moment - I would assume because of the model change etc.  It's worth looking around too - I found a Black Edition Fabia not too far from me, has lots of extras and was a good price.

Have you thought about going for a text drive and finding out what you would get for yours etc etc?  Might help you decide what you want.

• Like 1