DAB Ariels

mdk1

After some info please,

Thinking of upgrading to DAB,

What would you guys recommend on the Ariel front, now I'm not technically minded and have seen stick on internal ones, how good are these?

Is it worth looking at any other sort? And what's involved in trying to fit them.

Thanks in advance.

It depends what way you were thinking of adding DAB - are you changing the head unit or getting an add-on box?

A quality roof mounted aerial will give the best results. The stick on internal ones are reasonable, but the fitting instructions MUST be followed correctly for best results with regards to placement and fitting, I think a lot of people deviate because either they don't understand the instructions or they've done it for appearance reasons as they don't look the best, however for the price you can fit one and if it doesn't cut it you can upgrade to a roof mounted aerial at a later stage.

Fitting a roof mounted aerial is obviously a more involved job as you'll need to partially remove the headlining to replace the current aerial and run cables.

Just received my roof mounted jobby, cost just over £50 on eBay for an apparently genuine part with DAB, AM/FM, GSM (for phone) and GPS (for sat nav) connectors. It was item number 271685146748. Sent very promptly and seems reasonable for what it is. Yet to fit it though as still waiting for my cables to arrive.

• Like 1

I ordered these but be a little while before they come from China..

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/330843979035

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/330651503750

The AM/FM and GPS leads I already have to the existing roof antenna should be good to reuse.

Kbphoto has a universal extension lead for sale in the classifieds if you don't want to wait and only need a DAB lead...

Adam

• Like 1

Hi