Upgraded Brakes On Furby Vrs ?

Xavier

Hi all.

Seriously considering a jabba / revo / apr / amd / insert_your_favourite_tuner_here

It's all very nice having those extra horses, but what about braking ?

I haven't taken delivery yet, so I guess I'll have to judge for myself but for you lucky ones out there who already have their vRSes, what do you think would be a recommended route for improvement? Don't wanna spend a fortune, and wondering if just upgrading the pads are a viable solution, or are you looking at new discs as soon as you change the pads?

It must transpire from this that I'm a complete noob on the subject, so all comments (including insulting ones ;) ) are welcomed!

Cheers

Well for me, horses and brakes are two separate things. Horses let you go quickly. Brakes stop you. Remapping the engine makes no difference to the weight of the car, so actually the brakes have no more physical work to do, it's just that your driving style may change to suit your extra horses. However IMHO on public roads you shouldn't get the brakes stressed to a point where they're going to let you down (although I have got them pretty warm at times). Track use is a different matter, of course.

JM2PW :cheers:

PS I forgot to say - if you're going to trash the brakes, you could do it just as easily with the stock engine (which kind of makes a case for upgrading brakes first if you're going to do it at all ....)

Not planning on any track stuff - yet ;)

I guess you're right with the weight any everything. A remap won't alter the stop speed (at least not at an attainable level on public roads) so I guess it's just the same. It'll just get to that speed quicker...

Anyway, how have people found the brakes on the furby vrs ? Potent enough ?

From my 7yr old Polo, I know it'll be an improvement ;)