Engine Rattle

thre3aces

Timing chain rattle get it to a dealer to check does it go a little quieter under load as the slack is taken out also when you press clutch pedal does in disappear,failing that you may have a damaged or blocked oilway on the tappet i think these auto adjust but I'm no expert though 

34 minutes ago, clem747 said:

Timing chain rattle get it to a dealer to check does it go a little quieter under load as the slack is taken out also when you press clutch pedal does in disappear,failing that you may have a damaged or blocked oilway on the tappet i think these auto adjust but I'm no expert though 

Yea the noise goes when the clutch gets pressed in. But 

The phone holder should seperate from the main body im thinking of making a wedge so that when the phone is back in place its more towards me However despite seperating it to have the clip at the top it wont come undone im trying the little tab but to NO avail OH drats just read Ive posted on original non related thread

149211579545690809399.jpg

Edited by clem747

2 hours ago, clem747 said:

The CHY engine is a variant of the EA211 and such has a rubber cam belt, not a chain. :)

That rattle is is far from normal though and needs expert attention.

Edited by ronime

If it stops when clutch is pressed, it is normal and comes from transmission. I think it's caused by uneven idling of 3 cylinder engine. I've had 3 Citigos now and all have had some rattle occasionally. 

• Like 1

On 14/04/2017 at 10:34, Estate Man said:

Get it checked at your local Skoda dealer. You may have a partially collapsed hydraulic tappet caused by dirt blocking the oilway on the tappet. Easy fix but must be looked at. 

Dayum. Yea service booked. I'll make sure they look specifically for that 

1 hour ago, Hyphons said:

100% normal, mine sounds and does exactly the same, if I remember, I'll get a video up at some point