DA/RO polishing machine advice

ckyliu

I’m fed up of applying polish (and wax) by hand, the car is now 4 years old and I’m not getting the swirl correction I want. However, I am a detailing novice and completely cack handed, so very concerned about burning my soft paint (I swear it’s just dyed butter) with a machine polisher (aka rotary MOP?).

I’ve been using Gtechniq’s Nano P1 polish by hand with a tri-foam applicator, and I understand this polish also works well by machine since it doesn’t fall away so you can use it at slower speeds (hence less burn risk) and it can be reactivated with water mist (or spritz as the DW folks say 🙄 ), and you use the pad firmness to control the level of cut.

What would be a good entry-level DA/RO (Dual action/random orbital) machine for a novice? It’s only going to be used three-ish times a year so I don’t want to spend much

And do I want the type with two handles, or the one that’s big arm (kinda looks like a grinder)?

Then I’m going to need some pads, any recommendations? I’ll also want a pad suitable for applying wax (I use AG SRP topped with Collinite 845).

Finally I need advice on how to actually use the thing, in terms of speeds, sizes, pitfalls etc, I presume someone already knows of some great guide for a tit like me?

Edited by ckyliu
  • Like 1

DAS 6/Das 6 Pro and Hexlogic pads for me.  It was my first/only DA and I can thoroughly recommend it.  

https://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/das-6-v2-dual-action-polisher

https://www.juicydetailing.co.uk/hex-logic-guide