Clutch Master Cylinder failures.

kewill23

My Kodiak ( 2020 4x4 manual 150 PS ) has just suffered a cylinder failure causing complete clutch loss.    

The hydraulic fluid loss was total and now that it is with the main dealer.

Upon dismantling the gear box its clear that the cylinder has failed and also contaminated the clutch plate which fortunately are covered by the extended warranty.

What isn't apparently covered is the Flywheel and securing bolts holding it that have come loose and need replacement and as the car has only done 34K. I'd ask those that may know if this is out of the ordinary and is it a defect that should be warranty covered.

Any thoughts or advice please.

Edited by kewill23

• kewill23 changed the title to Clutch Master Cylinder failures.

Hi, I don't know about this fault or Skoda's in particular but I'm a retired mechanic so maybe can help a little, so to cover what you've said I think the g/box would have been removed not dismantled, then the cylinder would be the slave not the master, it's the flywheel and loose bolts that seem unusual, the bolts don't just come loose and if they were and the flywheel is damaged I would suspect that could be a reason for the slave cylinder to fail/break. I would ask for more clarity on the loose bolts and expect it to be a warranty fault claim.

• Like 1

Hi Guys,The car is diesel.

The fly wheel is reported as having found to have raised surfaces / hotspots whilst the securing bolts were not as tight as they should be.

The dealer has stated that the flywheel issue is not a warranty matter which surprises me.

The master cylinder is warranted and clutch plate was contaminated so covered too. - just can't get OEM parts due to a nationwide shortage and being on back order.

will challenge again about the fly wheel as thats certainly not an expected failure under normal motoring conditions and use.

• Like 1