Redders octy mk2, air ride, 20's, 2014 trim and more...

_redders_

Is that actually a matt vinyl wrap or plasti-dip you have covered the car in?

I am considering going down the plasti-dip route with my vRS in the next couple of months!

No mate, its vinyl, im a professional vehicle wrapper, and my advice would be to steer well clear of plasti dip. Jon

What issues have you been seeing with Plast Dip? In everything I have read I haven't really seen anything negative about it!

Obviously I am still very open to which route I go down but I imagine a vinyl wrap to your standard would be in the £1k+ area.....

You have to remember that the plastidip is not really made for cars, although its use as such is not all that bad in small quantities, its great on small areas such as badges, mirrors etc, but the idea of spraying a full car makes me cringe, although its supposed to just peel right off, unless the plastidip is applied thick, around 8-10 layers, you won't be able to peel anything off, and you'll be left with overspray mess Inside your door shuts, window lines and anywhere else a spray can get that you can't mask,.

its also not that hard wearing, too much rubbing for instance on a handle or alike and it will peel away, you can't touch it up so it would need doing completely again, same goes for large panels, damage a panel sprayed in plastidip, you can jus repair it, the whole thing has to be redone, now while this isn't a problem, and you would have to do the same with vinyl, colour match is, you don't have te same problem with vinyl colour matching or the problems with removal...

The finish is also very questionable, lumpy, textured, and nothing but matt colours, the glossifier, leaves a lot to be desired too, more like satin... if your spraying with tins, you'll need ALOT, one tin in my experience will do one door, if your planning on ordering in buckets of paint, you'll need to thin the plastidip down in order to be able to spray it smoothly.