little info please?

Alright guys , I've been browsing about for a change of car , I'm pretty new to driving (7months) I've currently got a fiesta haha but the car is too small for me

the novelty wore off

but seen a few fabia vrs about and I like the look of them and I know the pd engines are long lasting?

so really just wondering what's the good points and bad about these cars? also an insight to the mpg as I'll be travelling 30 miles to work 6 days a week

yeah so any information would be greatly appreciated

thanks

rowey

Good points:

Cheap to buy.

Lots of low down torque make it feel faster than it is.

Bolt on modifications are cheap and plentiful.

Unfortunately because of the above they are also fast becoming a chavvy favourite car.

It is a good engine as long as it is serviced every ~10k miles, and most importantly - the correct oil is used, the PD engines common rail generate huge amounts of pressure, because of this they are quite fussy when it comes to the oil. But it is not a problem, as long as you use the right stuff!

As Softscoop states above: the vRS is cheap to pick up, however due to modifications being cheap, easily done and plentiful, there are a lot of examples out there that shouldn't be touched with a barge pole.

Don't worry too much about mileage, as long as the service history is complete and reliable. In an ideal world you'd be able to pick one up that has been used mainly on motorways as that's what a good Diesel engine is best at.

Approximate Mpg on a 30mile run, driven sensibly and assuming it is mainly 'flowing' rather than stop start driving, I would be expecting 45mpg or so. I find my car performs best in terms of economy on a long hour+ motorway run, sat at 67ish in 6th gear with the cruise control on :thumbup: