Skip to content

What's this about?... suspect email

Featured Replies

Hi,

I got an email from somebody I thought was from a forum that I've posted on to sell my car, interested in my car for sale so I emailed them back saying the lowest price I'd accept but the email they've sent me back is quite suspicious of a con.

Here's the email:

Hello,

Thanks for your transparency and the Email

regarding my offer,I just contacted my client about

the cost of the item which is

That sounds a little familiar.

Isn't this the one where they ask you to cash the cheque for them. When you give them the money, forgetting ot let the cheque clear, they disappear into ther sunset never to be seen again. Then the cheque bounces.

I wouldn't go near this with a barge pole. You're ahead of a lot of people by spotting the con straight off.

It's a scam.

Ignore the e-mail and do not give them any personal information.

Just tell them you've sold the car to someone else if they keep pestering you.

Scam. It's a money laundering scheme. Anything involving western union transfers is a scam. Anything involving Nigerians is a scam as the vast majority are deeply dishonest.

whoooooooooooo! steer (excuse the pun) well clear of that one!

Agree with all the above.

It's about as straight as one of Jason's EBay auctions :D

Definate scam, loads of these about at the moment. :(

Scam.

It's a scam.

It's always a scam

Scam,avoid like the plague!!!!

send a email back telling him you know what he's trying to pull and to "**** off you thieving lowlife"

As the others have said, this an out and out scam. Have nothing to with it at all. Suggest you just delete the email. On NO account give any personal information.

See www.419eater.com for more info.

Andyc

Agree with all the above.

It's about as straight as one of Jason's EBay auctions :D

:finger: Mine are always straight as an arrow. :P :rofl:

Cue pointing at signature... ;) Now got a neon CPU fan on there too. Bling! :thumbup:

:finger: Mine are always straight as an arrow. :P :rofl:

Cue pointing at signature... ;) Now got a neon CPU fan on there too. Bling! :thumbup:

You don't want to tell us what IKEA light your selling on the net as none of us can regonise it :rolleyes:

To be honest, would you even begin to trust someone who sends you an email that has:

a) poor spelling, grammar and punctuation

B) A strange mixture of UK and Americanisms (

To be honest, would you even begin to trust someone who sends you an email that has:

a) poor spelling, grammar and punctuation

B) A strange mixture of UK and Americanisms (

  • Author

Cheers for all the feedback.

I knew it was a scam as soon as I read it. Plus I'd never deal with someone who has to go through someone else and when they said they were sending me a cheque and to wire the rest was the most obvious give away. I just like to have some reassurance and it's good for future referrence if anybody else receives anything similar.

Cheers again

Create an account or sign in to comment

Recently Browsing 0

  • No registered users viewing this page.

Important Information

Welcome to BRISKODA. Please note the following important links Terms of Use. We have a comprehensive Privacy Policy. We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.

Account

Navigation

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.