So, exactly how common are problems with PD engines?

I'm considering buying an Octavia VRS diesel tomorrow and I see lots of talk here about choosing TSI over the PD170 due to DMP, DPF, injector etc issues - as well as all the usual petrol v diesel arguments.

Bearing in mind that the Octavia seems to have one of the highest reliability ratings out there, are the issues a tad overstated? If things do go wrong, how costly are they to fix and surely you can source via a breaker?

Car I'm going to look at is pushing 80,000 miles, I'll probably double that mileage during my ownership.

Have to say, we've been delighted with out Mk1 Fabia VRS, bought from new and now at 80,000 miles with few issues.

from what ive read the 1.9 pd tdi is about the best, but i have no personal experience other than knowing 2 people who had the 2.0 pd tdi and both had oil pump failure and knackered engine, they were both around 07 plate

as with any make, its luck of the draw

Edited by Lofty79

My garage (they know what they're doing) reckon as long as you stick with the correct oil and service intervals then they don't see many problems with the 2.0l PD's.

Still slightly in two minds, but hey ho!

The pd 170 is a great engine and skodas never had the oil pump issue it was only early passats and a4s in 2005.

Injectors are free under recall so that's no worry,just be carefull where u get them done as there's lads on here having problems yet anyone I know in Ireland doesn't.

Dpf should give no problems if ur doing the odd once a week long journey.

The pd 170 is a great engine and skodas never had the oil pump issue it was only early passats and a4s in 2005.

Injectors are free under recall so that's no worry,just be carefull where u get them done as there's lads on here having problems yet anyone I know in Ireland doesn't.

Dpf should give no problems if ur doing the odd once a week long journey.