Hissing noise from the back of Octavia 3 Diesel

Hi Guys,

I just received my Octavia from the dealer last week and made already 1000Km with it. I noticed some days ago that i have some hissing noise from underneath the back wheels or fuel tank. I made a short video with it just to make an ideea about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KhR4o-ZCxeY

Is this an issue or is just normal for this kind of Octavia model?

Car is working perfect, no warning lights.

This hissing noise is starting after 6-7 minutes i start the car and does not go away if i take of the fuel cap.

Specs of the car:

O3 2013 / 2.0 TDI 150HP/6 speed manual / estate

Many thanks for your kind answer and wishing you all a lovely day.

With best regards,

B.

• Like 1

It sounds a bit metallic to me. I am no expert but as you say it only starts after a few minutes it is probably as heat is put into the area around the exhaust. Maybe one of the heat shields or an exhaust bracket.

It would be a good idea to take it to the dealer & they can look underneath on the ramps. Much better when you can get a good look around underneath.

If its normal then every 2.0 tdi should do it.... mine only made that noise when I had a puncture! I definitely do not have a noise like that anywhere on the car.

Could be the exhaust blowing.

I had a mondeo St and the rear silencer broke away from the rest of the exhaust system completely, you would think it would sound like a tank but it doesn't... only indication anything was wrong was more turbo noise when accelerating and if you parked over leaves they would get blown around.

Edited by Sheldon.Cooper

Your noise is your fuel pump! They are very hissy and they almost sound as if you have a flat tyre !

Hi VRSmissile

You are completely right about the sound type, sounds exactly like you have a flat tyre. But i don't know if it is a normal condition or is attributed to wrong mounting ar loose gaskets.

Wishing you a nice evening,

B.

Hello.